We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer”
Review of Aoraki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aoraki Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I booked Aoraki Lodge in Twizel on the internet after reading some of the Trip Advisor reviews. It not only lived up to my expectations but exceeded them. Sandy and Ian are delightful hosts, they made us feel very welcome and they run a first class lodge. The accommodation is excellent, lovely comfortable beds, really spacious and modern bathroom and a fabulous garden to sit out in and watch the night sky. Sandy made a reservation for dinner for us at The Poppy restaurant and then we joined other guests for a glass of excellent New Zealand wine and a bit of pre dinner conversation. (I wish more establishments did this). Breakfast was excellent and then on Ian's advice took the road up the side of lake Pukaki to view Mount Cook. Awesome! We will be going back to New Zealand and fully intend to spend a bit more time in Twizel and of course stay in Aoraki Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoy running our B&B and the interesting cross section of guests we are privileged to host. Your review and photos made us feel very positive about what we are doing – we want our guests to take home wonderful memories of New Zealand and especially Twizel and the Mackenzie Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Aoraki Lodge in Twizel for 3-nights at the end of March during a tour of New Zealand. We had booked and paid for a room with breakfast on the internet a number of months in advance of our visit. Sandy greeted us on our arrival and showed us to room 3 which overlooks the pretty garden with decking to sit on outside. (It was just as well we had booked early as Twizel was hosting the annual school rowing championships during the last weekend of March and all accommodation and restaurants were full during our visit (tip - check if there are any events occurring in Twizel during planned visit dates).

Our room was a really good size and had two chairs, tea and coffee making facilities and an extremely comfortable and big bed. Although the B&B is situated on the main road around the town of Twizel it is very peaceful at night, ensuring a good nights sleep (nice and dark as well). The bathroom, like the room is well equipped with good size towels and a wet room style shower and lovely toiletries. There is WiFi as well if required which is very fast with consistent signal.

The real asset to Aoraki Lodge however is Sandy and Ian. They work tirelessly to ensure that all guests have everything they require and go that extra distance in advising and helping to book trips and restaurants in Twizel and the Mount Cook National Park. Following their advice we asked them to book us a ski-plane trip with a landing with the ‘Mount Cook Ski-plane’ company. This was a fantastic trip of a lifetime which involved a landing on the Franz Josef glacier and our trip was definitely longer than the advertised length of time. Sandy and Ian also helped us to choose which walks (‘tramps’) to take in the National Park based on our interests and time available.

We had been self catering for much of our trip to this point and it was very nice to have breakfast prepared for us. Sandy and Ian work well as a team, rustling up a tasty and healthy (and big) cooked breakfast if requested (all guests did!) following a selection of fruit and cereals. It was fascinating to sit around the dining table and chat with guests from across the world. In the early evening Sandy and Ian invite guests to pop in for a drink if they fancy and it is a great chance to discuss what has happened in the day. Twizel is not a big town and because of the rowing championships booking with restaurants was essential. In the end we ate at Hunters Cafe and Bar for 2-nights running - an excellent choice with good New Zealand food in hearty quantities.

To summarise, this is a very good bed and breakfast that is made extra special by having Sandy and Ian as hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and for reinstating how much we enjoy our hosting. We will never forget the looks on both your faces as you came through the gate from your trip to Mt Cook. It was a joy to behold and we are so pleased to have been a part of your adventure in the ski plane. Sandy and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is our second stay with Ian and Sandy and as before everything was perfect. The rooms are spacious with wonderful bedding and towels. We looked forward to a hearty breakfast that was prepared with the utmost care and attention. A lovely chat and glass of wine at the end of the day just added to our experience. We wouldn't miss a chance to stay here when we are in New Zealand the next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatBVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Manager at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Your lovely review is very much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit! Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Darwins are indeed excellent hosts and are happy to do whatever they can to ensure you have a good stay in Twizel. My daughter Kate and I felt very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed both the glass of wine and the delicious breakfast in the morning - especially those poached eggs, Ian! Hoping to make it out to stay again and would recommend this lovely Bed and Breakfast for anyone heading towards Mt. Cook and surroundings.

Room Tip: Email Sandy or Ian about your preferences. They are happy to try to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel very confident that our breakfast is a great way to start the day and the poached eggs go down a treat with our guests. Look forward to having you stay again? Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We liked the hosts very much. Breakfast was very well prepared.
The only thing we could remark was the decoration of the room. Very basic and nineties looking. Could be renovated a bit from our perspective.
We appreciated the free internet very much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Your comments are very welcome and your room is in the stages of renovation now during our closed period. Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Ian & Sandy were great hosts when we visited. They know the area very well and had great insights on which roads to take and what sights cannot be missed. Mt. Cook is a short 45 min drive from the city and is a must-see place to visit. They make an effort to get to know their guests while they host cocktail hour in their magnificent bar & family room and in the mornings during breakfast. They'll go out of their way to make sure your accommodation is worthwhile. I highly recommend staying with these folks if you plan to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_traveler_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Your recommendations are much appreciated. We find that Breakfast is a much friendlier occasion if our guests have all met the previous evening over a glass of wine before going out to dine. Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After a tour in the north and on the west coast of the south island we stopped for a night in twizel. Sandy and Ian have been very nice to us despite our late arrival they offer us a glass of wine and we had a little chat. At breakfast we have time to talk more and they encourage us to make a trip by helicoper over the glacier, Ian rung the airport but unfortunately it was too windy and we haven't been able to fly. Anyway we plan to come back to NZ and we certainly stop at Aoraki Lodge !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATHERINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We enjoyed your visit too and do understand a late arrival. Our first concern is that there may have been a problem but as soon as you arrived your stay with us began. On this occasion because of the time it started with a glass of wine and a chat instead or tea or coffee and cake! Sorry you did not make the helicopter flight - landing on a glacier is an awesome and lifetime experience. You will have to try again when you come back and stay with us. Sandy and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twizel hotels
0.3 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
340 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
1.1 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Lodge

Address: 32 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range: £77 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aoraki Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aoraki Lodge Bed and Breakfast is in the heart of the Twizel township. Just a few minutes stroll to the marketplace - town centre where you can find some outstanding restaurants. Our Lodge is set in a beautiful country style garden and although central, it is quiet and peaceful. Come on in and be a part of our family for a night or two. We are delighted to help you with dinner reservations, activity booking and advice about how you can spend your time in the amazing Mackenzie basin area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing