We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in Mackenzie country”
Review of Aoraki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aoraki Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in Mackenzie country”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed here in 2008 and it was the obvious choice for 3 night stay this time around.

Ian and Sandy are superb hosts, imparting their extensive local knowledge and passion for the surrounding area. It's the little touches that made the diiference, the fresh flowers in the room, use of their laptop to email home, sharing a glass of wine in the evening.They genuinely welcome you into their home.Sandy even did some washing for us.

Breakfast was a relaxed affair and they were always keen to know what our plans were for the day. The friendly atmosphere encouraged conversation amongst all the guests. Something that doesn't really happpen in UK B & Bs!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda499514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
It was wonderful to have you stay a second time - that is the best compliment! Our home and garden make it a joy for entertaining guests as yourselves and we also like to have fresh flowers in your room on arrival. Thank you for the lovely review. Regards Sandy & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
71
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, IN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Our hosts were wonderful. The room was fantastic and comfortable, and the breakfast was terrific!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you are staying in or passing through Twizel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crumblindown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review and recommendation in such a short space! We appreciate you taking the time to comment. Regards Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The Aoraki Lodge in Twizel was recommended to us by the I-Site folks in Dunedin, and it was an excellent recommendation. Our room just had a new bathroom installed, and my companion and I were the first ones to take advantage of it. The key to this lodging (it's actually a B & B) was the helpfulness and graciousness of the proprietors, Sandy and Ian. They served us tea and cake in lodge's central common room, and were very helpful in trying to arrange for a ski plane flight over Mt. Cook. Unfortunately, the weather didn't behave quite as nicely. They also helped point out a couple of restaurants to try in Twizel, and the breakfast the following morning was excellent.

Would definitely recommend the Aoraki Lodge to anyone stopping in the Mt. Cook area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are still receiving great comments about the bathroom! Thank you for taking the time to send your review. We are only sorry you were not able to take the flight in the ski plane - maybe next time? Regards Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We arrived mid afternoon and were immrdiately offered refreshments. Every evening the guests are invited for an early evening glass of wine which was very enjoyable and offered a good choice for discussion. Sandy recommended 2 restaurants for our stay and even provided a discount voucher one evening. The breakfast was both extensive and very good. The room was a good size but a little dark.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. We especially appreciated your comment on the room being a little dark. We still have the heavy curtains for privacy at night but have now also added fine light curtains on a track against the glass window and door. This allows guests to enjoy being able to look out onto the garden without being visible (even with the door open) - more privacy and the room much much lighter. Regards Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsundays
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed at Aoraki Lodge for one night to break up the drive from Queenstown to Christchurch. Twizel is a cute little town and Sandy and Ian are absolutely lovely hosts. They greeted us with a beer and wine and cheese, and we sat in front of the fire and enjoyed their company. We did a quick trip to Mt. Cook, but having just driven 4 hours up the south island, we had already seen plentiful stunning, beautiful mountains and Mt. Cook was much the same! (Beauty overload perhaps...).
The room was clean, bed extremely comfortable, and overall it was a great stay. The breakfast was delicious, if only we had time in the morning for the hot breakfast too!
Poppy's cafe for dinner is a must do.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danirelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We were disappointed that you could not stay for the cooked breakfast next morning - it is the host's specialty! Kind regards Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stopped here for just one night between Te Anau and Christchurch. When we arrived, the clouds had just broken, so Sandy sent us quickly to the base of the mountain. We managed a quick hike and some time in the Edmund Hillary exhibit, both highlights of our New Zealand experience. The room and breakfast were fine. Sandy is a wonderful hostess -- kind, friendly, helpful, and many other attributes. When we left, she provided us with hugs and a wonderful travel gift.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
We enjoyed your stay also and hope we were not too bossy about going to Mt Cook! We know that you would have taken some wonderful memories of your trip back home with you. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us - very much appreciated. Regards Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Twizel, at less than an hour away from Mount Cook, is a good alternative location to stay the night if you plan to go to Mount Cook but do not want to pay the high rates at Mount Cook itself.

If you decide on this, then Aoraki Lodge would be a good choice for a B&B. The host - Oksana, is very friendly and the breakfast provided was more than adequate.

There is a big shared lounge with all the amenities of a well-stocked home. As for the room itself, you can find the usual B&B amenities, like heated towel rails, kettle, coffee/tea, comfortable bed, electric blanket.

All in all, a recommended lodging at a reasonable price.

Their website : [----]

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twizel hotels
0.3 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Lodge

Property: Aoraki Lodge
Address: 32 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aoraki Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aoraki Lodge Bed and Breakfast is in the heart of the Twizel township. Just a few minutes stroll to the marketplace - town centre where you can find some outstanding restaurants. Our Lodge is set in a beautiful country style garden and although central, it is quiet and peaceful. Come on in and be a part of our family for a night or two. We are delighted to help you with dinner reservations, activity booking and advice about how you can spend your time in the amazing Mackenzie basin area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing