We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Just overnight at this charming Motel, lovely quiet setting, very roomy studio with excellent facilities, air-con and ceiling fan, kettle with tea/coffee supplies, toaster, microwave, 2 hot plates, electric frying pan and fridge. Double and single bed, small table and 2 chairs. Nice clean shower room, mirrors and hairdryer. Guest laundry. one of the best motels we stayed and would highly recommend. Easy walking distance to local shops and restaurants, We had dinner at Shawty's.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    128
    49
    11
    2
See reviews for
62
150
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nth East Vic
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Lovely and spacious 'A' frame units, ours had a top level with bed for the little people. A short walk to the town center and friendly staff. All good. This is an affordable place to stay as a staging point for Mt. Cook forays. Oddly enough, the eateries are the best we have encountered both in Australia and New Zealand. Shawtys cafe is the cafe at the end of the universe (apols to Douglas Adams).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Shooemaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Chalets for almost a week with our 10 month old son. I am ALWAYS worried when we stay in small towns that the accomodation wont be up to my city slickers standards! I am mostly worried about the cleanliness of the facilities. The chalets we cleaned to within an inch of their lives! THANK GOD! I immedietly felt at home. Chalets were great for what we needed, we decided to go for the two bedroom and it worked out really well. I was able to cook my son dinner everynight and also use the laundry to do our washing. We used the BBQ facilities and when we couldnt be bothered cooking it was only a quick walk into town to grab dinner. The hosts were great and nothing was too much trouble. Would def stay again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed there just for one night. To me, this offers no frill place to stay for hte night.

This a group of indivual living quarter about 40 minutes from Mt Cook. South Island. Other than that, no much in the area. I would be real bored if we have to stay here more than a couple of nights.

There is a combination of small kitchen, dining area and living area downstairs and a bedroom and shower. Other peole sleep in the loft area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevew918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Booked two chalets for one night stay, one was a studio and other was a 1 bedroom. All chalets were separated and self-contained, made for a great night sleep. Both had loads of room and big bathrooms. The studio had a separate kitchenette which was a bonus. AC in the lounge of the 1 bedroom chalet was broken we just used the one inside the room. Furniture is a little dated but still very comfortable. Not in dead centre of town but is within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceTravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toolamba, victoria
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Twizel is a delightful little town close to great fishing, Mt Cook and several tourist activities. We stopped at chalet 23 and found it to be very comfortable.
The interior is a little dated, but who really cares anyway. As long as the bed is comfy, the location is quiet and the room clean and a good temperature I'm happy. This place ticked all the boxes.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiramoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

WE prebooked this accommodation before going to New Zealand and glad that we did. The individual chalets are quite large, clean and very comfortable. They are a good half way point between Christchurch and Queenstown. Great place to stay and see Mt. Cook. Eateries are within walking distance. Would definitely stay again if we returned to New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chook60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.3 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
16.7 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
314 reviews
24.2 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Motels

Property: Mountain Chalet Motels
Address: Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Chalet Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Chalets is situated in Twizel, 40 minutes’ drive from Mount Cook, on State Highway 8 between Christchurch and Queenstown. This picturesque site is on the doorstep to some of New Zealand’s finest scenery. Located in the Mackenzie Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Chalet Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing