We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Motels
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After booking here for a stopover on our way to Queenstown, I read a few reviews (did things the wrong way round!!) and got a little nervous. But then we thought its only 1 night, and its only cheap. The day we were due to arrive in Twizel, our trepidation grew, particularly after we had spent a night at an amazing BandB the night before. We arrived at around 5.30 in the evening, its very easy to find, cant really miss it coming in off the highway. The gentleman in reception was very friendly, and our room, a studio, was very clean and warm (it was a cold night and the heat pump had been put on for us) The bathroom was recently updated I would guess as it was modern, where as the rest of the furniture was a little older in style, but all in good condition, and a teeny little kitchenette. The bed wasn't bad (I've slept on a lot worse in a lot more expensive places!!) and there were electric blankets and free wifi.
Its not the Ritz, but the things that are the most important to us, no1 clean, no2 a decent bed that's not rock hard and no3 bathroom that's clean and modern all ticked off.

PS im sure the Simpsons couch is in their barbeque area LOL (or is it just me??)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    124
    48
    11
    2
See reviews for
59
145
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tanunda
Level Contributor
177 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights in August, wasn't expecting anything too fantastic from our research on Twizel but it wasn't too bad. The buildings themselves were better than expected, newer than they look in photos and clean and tidy, plenty of room inside. Wi Fi was ok as well. Being in such a cold area it would have been nice to have a heater that didn't take 2 hours to warm up, and the stupidly freezing cold tiles in the bathroom are a shocker, tip - turn the bathroom heater on a few times before going in for a shower. The guy at reception wasn't exactly a bundle of enthusiasm, didn't seem too interested in being there. Twizel is fairly small so you can walk to the main shops in a few minutes, but be prepared, a lot of eating places don't seem to be open in winter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barossabazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this place just based on photos and were not disappointed. It was lovely and warm when we arrived, we enjoyed our room so much we ended up going to the shops for supplies and staying in for the night. Chalet room was excellent with a comfy bed and more room than we expected. The snow was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyannegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having started the driving journey from Christchurch in the beginning of winter, Twizel is a quaint place to stop over for a break. We arrived Twizel with no expectations and to be greeted by a cottage to each family is a treat. Check in was swift in the office at the front, keys to the cottage was handed over and within 10mins we were already settling into a loft type cottage. Three beds at the top and a queen bed at the lower level. I believe the sofa is also a pull out type. Occupants at the top will feel most cosy in winter as heat rises upwards to keep them warm. We had efficient heaters provided by the host, and I do concur with one of the reviewers it can get really cold in the bathroom. Electric blankets provided to all beds. Kitchenette was sufficient with their supply of pots and pans. If you are arriving after sundown, it would be advisable to pop into a grocery store to get your provisions before arriving in Twizel. Overall the cottage was clean, with clean sheets and kitchen. Guest laundry is located near the office and make sure if you want to change for coins at the office, you may want to do so before they close. I like it that the guest laundry is always open at all hours and not having to rush my drying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean, very pleasently surprised as it was the cheapest option we could find for our family of 5.

Our kids loved the adventure of the mezzanine bedroom.

One small point; we did find it quite chilly especially the bathroom which was tiled but had no underfloor heating. It wouldn't stop us coming back tho.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 831rachelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were not expecting much before we arrived, and were pleasantly surprised by our room. It was spacious and cosy with a separate kitchen. Facilities were clean and the host was helpful. We really liked it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night while driving back to Christchurch from Queenstown and we decided to stop in Twizel for a break because it was getting dark , so we stopped for a night. The staff at the office were very friendly , the cabin was cosy and clean. We enjoyed our night stay. Thank you

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luluxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
16.7 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twizel Holiday Park
Twizel Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heartland Lodge
Heartland Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
24.2 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Motels

Property: Mountain Chalet Motels
Address: Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Chalet Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Chalets is situated in Twizel, 40 minutes’ drive from Mount Cook, on State Highway 8 between Christchurch and Queenstown. This picturesque site is on the doorstep to some of New Zealand’s finest scenery. Located in the Mackenzie Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Chalet Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing