We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Nirvana"”
Review of Matuka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matuka Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I recommend a Matuka Lodge holiday for all world weary travellers.A superb location with excellent accommodation. One can spend hours in quiet contemplation gazing at snow capped mountains and glorious scenery.
The hosts are extremely delightful and enhance the whole experience with their good humour and charm.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was the most expensive place we stayed in on our 3 week honeymoon of NZ and so we had very high expectations. We were not disappointed and felt that it was worth the additional cost. The property is stunning with a beautiful setting by its own lake and view to the mountains beyond. Rosalie and Russell are wonderful hosts - it was great to chat with them over pre-dinner drinks before we went to dinner at restaurants recommended by Rosalie. The bedroom was stunning with a beautiful bathroom. Having the flexibility to use the lounge and have a drink in the evening was really appreciated. Breakfasts were gorgeous - I really recommend the local smoked salmon. The only caution I have is to be careful with your key - we came very close to locking ourselves out because once the door shuts it locks - a bit dangerous! I wish we had more time to spend here - it was the best property we stayed in during our entire 3 week trip!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I can't think of a better place to stay to restore one's sense of peace and serenity. The suites and shared sitting areas are delightful with every comfort taken care, nothing was too much trouble. The quiet, serene atmosphere soothed my soul and I wished I could have stayed much, much longer. I particularly loved the private terrace where I sat and enjoyed seeing the ducks swimming in the dam. In the morning I watched the sun come up with a quiet cup of tea in bed, and at the end of the day, watched the sun set, sipping a lovely glass of wine. Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steff110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I returned to Matuka Lodge because of its uniqueness. The setting is superb, with 360 degree views of snow-capped peaks and it's a short drive to Mt Cook. The accommodation is luxurious with every desired comfort including spa baths in each suite. The breakfasts are excellent and there are first class restaurants in nearby Twisel. Being halfway between Queenstown and Christchurch makes Matuka Lodge the perfect point to stopover. The hosts are delightful: friendly, helpful and interesting. Anyone looking for beauty and tranquility should go to this ideal spot!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dene23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Of all the accommodation we enjoyed during our wonderful tour of South Island Matuka Lodge was without doubt the standout experience. The lodge itself was very comfortable, beautifully appointed and the setting quite stunning with uninterrupted views of the mountains across the private lake, (even from the spa bath!).
Rosalie & Russell were delightful hosts and good conversationalists with a wealth of useful information on the area and South Island generally.
We now rave about this wonderful place to all friends planning a NZ holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at Matuka Lodge for a couple of nights in October, as part of a tour of the South Island of New Zealand. The place was an oasis in our busy life and calendar. Rosalie and Russell were perfect hosts and really added value, in every sense, to our experience. The room was perfect; breakfast was substantial; wine tasting in the evening sociable, and the hosts provided more than enough information on local eateries and places of interest to see. A MUST if you want a place to stay while "doing" Mount Cook.
Ray and Mary Bates, Dublin, Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This lovely lodge/band b is the most perfect stopover between Christchurch and points south. With the golden Canterbury Plains at its back, and snow-topped mountains providing a spectacular vista from every room, Matuka Lodge is a reflection of its well-travelled owners' taste and experience: interesting artefacts, absolute comfort and a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was great, specially after an early-morning walk beside the river across the road, Rosalie and Russell the perfect hosts, pre-dinner drinks a delightful fore-runner to dinner in nearby Twizel. We loved it. Probably never will, but would love to see the trout pond iced over in the winter with local children skating!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollymari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twizel hotels
2.5 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
2.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
2.3 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
2.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
1.4 mi away
Heartland Lodge
Heartland Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twizel
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matuka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matuka Lodge

Address: 395 Glen Lyon Road, Twizel 7944, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range: £183 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Matuka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of Matuka Lodge, situated in a tranquil rural setting, 3km from Twizel, gateway to Mt Cook National Park, halfway between Christchurch and Queenstown. Choose from one of our four luxurious king rooms, each with a stunning mountain view, and enjoy 5 star comfort in a casually elegant atmosphere. An exceptional experience awaits you at Matuka Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Matuka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing