We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Say Enough Good Things”
Review of Heartland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't Say Enough Good Things”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

What a wonderful experience. Jim and Mary opened up their lovely home to us. It was specifically built as a B&B and it shows. Our room was large and spacious with lots of light and windows. The attached bathroom was also very large and equipped with a spa tub. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The lodge is set on a quiet road and I can't remember even hearing one car. Circumstances prevented us from having one of Mary's dinners, but we heard they were fantastic. If the breakfast is an example, I can sure believe it. Jim and Mary are friendly, outgoing, and caring. We were even given some cookies to take with us. We spent a great two nights and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Jim and MAry gave us a very special welcome, they are wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble even my ironing!! Heartland is a beautiful house, wonderful bedrooms and all things needed are there. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts, wonderful fruit and good conversation around the table. We were just sorry we only had two nights there. The are around Twizel is very beautiful too. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Jim and Mary treat you like good friends. Coming to Heartland is like coming home to family. The breakfasts, and meals are to die for (every thing is fresh or home grown) - just awesome. Accommodation is five star all the way as is the hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHart308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Best B&B ever. Delightful hosts, clean, comfortable, spacious accommodations, wonderful food. Mary and Jim "go the extra mile" while having fun. No request is too much to ask. I accidentally left something of value in my room the day we left. They tracked us down, and when it became apparent that we could not return to collect it, they gladly mailed it to me in the US. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We had two nights here, and were made to feel so welcome, we felt part of the family.drinks on the patio, lift into town, the famous Anzac biscuits - nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended!
Jim and Mary are wonderful hosts.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in New Zealand. Mary and Jim made us feel at home. We truly enjoyed their hospitality. The room was comforatable and clean. The meals were delicious. So much nicer than a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a two night stay at the Heartland Lodge to break our return to Christchurch from Te Anau and to explore Mt Cook and the surrounding area. On arrival our reception was both warm and friendly, and we were immediately made to feel at home. Our room was beautifully appointed and the thoughtful, open plan arrangements downstairs encourage guests to relax, mingle and enjoy a glass of wine in the company of their hosts Mary and Jim. It is easy to forget you are staying in a hotel; the experience is more akin to being welcomed into the family of newly made friends. We chose to dine out in the evening and after enjoying the sumptuous breakfast, cooked to perfection by Mary, this was probably a mistake. Thankfully, there is still much for us to explore in the area, providing the perfect excuse to return; not that we really need one. Mary and Jim have created something very special at Heartland Lodge. The ease with which they provide for your every need and their attention to detail belies the hard work they put into ensuring you will enjoy the perfect stay. Many thanks to Mary and Jim and we look forward to enjoying your company again in the very near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToadyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
16.9 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Lodge

Property: Heartland Lodge
Address: 19 North West Arch, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Lodge is purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation. The rooms in the lodge are all spacious, with full sized ensuite bathrooms with spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Heartland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing