We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heartland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We loved our stay at heartland Lodge. The space is absolutely gorgeous---warm, inviting, friendly----you couldn't ask for a more welcoming space and atmosphere. Jim was an amazing host---Mary was out of town. Jim prepared lovely appetizers for us and we all enjoyed a glass of wine together in front of the fireplace, where he'd built a wonderful fire. He suggested a great restaurant for dinner which we all enjoyed. Our room was just lovely----quite large--huge actually, with a very large bathroom. We had an amazing breakfast----cooked to order----and he let us do a load of laundry too. He really couldn't have been a more gracious host---we really enjoyed learning about the area and about him. I would definitely recommend it and I hope we can return. IT IS FABULOUS!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your review. It does not take much trouble to help our guests, we have the laundry available in the evenings. We have the good fortune to have large guest suites which our guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I agree with the previous reviewer - this is a top end establishment but not pretentious. Jim our host was very friendly. Thank you for the delicious packed lunch that you made up for us for our cycle trip. Room was spacious and clean, warm with a large spa tub.Very quiet street.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely. There is a lower cost alternative which is a self contained flat in the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southislander019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We spent two nights with Jim and Mary at Heartland Lodge and were treated like friends rather than guests. The lodge is in a quiet area on the western edge of Twizel, the rooms are spacious and well-appointed, the breakfasts are excellent, and the common areas are large (the exterior picture on TA doesn't do justice to the lodge). The best part of our visit was our time spent conversing with our hosts over hors d'ouevres and during the one excellent dinner that they served to us. Jim and Mary are interesting people themselves, who take an interest in their guests. And when we left on our way to Christchurch, they gave us lots of good tips on what to see and do on the way.
The town of Twizel isn't much, but we picked Heartland Lodge in order to be close to Mt Cook without having to stay at Mt Cook. We couldn't have made a better choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This would have to be one of the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. The wonderful welcome, afternoon tea, helpful advice and great conversation from like minded individuals are now fond memories. The best, however, was dinner which was on par to many restaurants in Chrischurch.

Room Tip: Get dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Mary and Jim during our visit to Mt. Cook and Lake Pukaki. Our hosts were warm and welcoming, our room gracious and comfortable, and our breakfast was scrumptious -- fresh fruit, muesli, yogurt plus bacon, eggs, toast, mushrooms and tomato! We highly recommend the Heartland Lodge! Thanks Mary and Jim!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingterps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent a marvellous night at Heartland with Mary and Jim Powell in Twizel. The house is delightful and our room was immaculate. We felt more like friends than guests. Couldn't have asked for any more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in "The Retreat" - simpler self-contained accommodation, compared to the in-house B&B option, at Heartland Lodge. Our hosts Jim and Mary were welcoming and helpful, and invited us to pick vegetables from their garden! The apartment was spacious, clean, attractive, and with good amenities. A most relaxing stay, and only a 40 minute drive to Mount Cook.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
16.9 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Lodge

Property: Heartland Lodge
Address: 19 North West Arch, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Lodge is purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation. The rooms in the lodge are all spacious, with full sized ensuite bathrooms with spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing