We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small town, lovely room, lovely hosts, perfect stay”
Review of Heartland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heartland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely small town, lovely room, lovely hosts, perfect stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I used to doubt if Twizel is a nice place for overnight stay and it turned out to be the best choice over Mt Cook area. Heartland lodge is definitely the best of best in this peaceful small town. Driving through the woody road at the edge of Twizel, you won't miss a beautiful gate inside of which there is a large front yard full of flowers- that is heartland. Jim and Mary is the loveliest couple we met in New Zealand, making us feeling at home at the first moment of arrival. We were so warmly treated with the welcome notes for our honeymoon and fresh roses in room. All three rooms are gorgeous and super clean. Jim and Mary were so nice upgrading our stay to Aoraki room as a special offer which is so much appreciated by my husband and myself. The room is very large, comfortable and the decorations were stylish with good sense of art. We had a wonderful night in heartland, enjoying the best dinner in town according to Jim’s recommendation, talking with Jim and Mary and the only pity was the cloudy day without a chance to see the milky way. Jim helped us checking the weather of Mt Cook area and encouraged us to go hiking even if time is very limited for Lake Tekapo. We followed his suggestion and found that day so much worthwhile staying at Mt Cook and Lake Pukaki instead of heading directly to Tekapo. Thank you, Jim and Mary. And special thanks for the tasty homemade cookie. – Sicheng & Jane

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cainfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at Heartland Lodge recently and really loved it. We were not expecting it to be such a home-style lodge and when Jim welcomed us in the car park we were pleasantly surprised. Both Jim and Mary were very gracious and interesting hosts, making us feel very welcomed within the lodge. The lodge itself is very beautiful and very spacious. the rooms are huge with lovely views of the gardens and mountains beyond. everything is extremely well setup, clean and comfortable.

The breakfast in the morning was also great with some nice company from fellow guests and lovely food cooked by Mary and Jim.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would (will) go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The owner is very welcoming and likes to receive people.
The place is very calm, this a bed & breakfast accomodation like.
The accomodation offered a good equipment.
Popies restaurant is a good choice to have dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Heartland was amongst our favorite stays throughout our country-wide tour of New Zealand. Staying with Jim & Mary reminded us being guests of family friends. We were there during the quiet time of year, and as a result were the only guests. That allowed us to enjoy some great conversation around the fireplace in the living room. It was clear that Jim & Mary enjoyed running their B&B, and they were naturals.

The room was very nice. We had plenty of blankets in case we needed them, and the bathroom was spotless and had nice towels, soap, shampoo, etc. We had a nice view of the mountains too. The common area had a nice TV, stereo, fireplace, and some books and magazines.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious and we still talk about it two months later. They made pancakes with fresh-sliced bananas, crispy bacon, and real maple syrup. We also had local fruit, honey, juice, coffee and more. It was so good I had to ask them for the pancake recipe.

We had a long drive the next morning so unfortunately we were not able to linger after breakfast in the morning. They sent us away with directions, some sites to see along the way, and some delicious anzac biscuits in case we got hungry. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area, and recommend it to anyone looking for B&B accommodations near Mt. Cook.

We do recommend you confirm your directions before arriving. Even though we had the latest GPS map from Garmin, the address was not found. Google maps was accurate however. It's easy enough to find once you know where you are going.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janices7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Cooking breakfast and the evening chat are the highlights of looking after our guests. Everyone has their story and everything is interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We only stayed one night but it was just perfect for the 4 of us. We stayed in the 'Retreat' and despite the hosts not being there we were made to feel so welcome and in a home away from home. The lodge is in a beautiful location and has everything you need. We loved the fireplace. Make sure to go outside at night at look up at the sky, the light pollution is minimal and it is something special!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Mary and Jim were really welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. The room was really big and the bed was so huge we could have got lost in it - loved the sheets! They are located on the outskirts of Twizel which makes you feel like you are away from everything, but it was only a two minute drive to the shops. Our hosts were very knowledgable about the different restaurants and cafes and made good frank recommendations, consequently we had a lovely dinner at Shawty's. There were a number of options for breakfast. I can highly recommend Mary's homemade muesli - yummy!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank whatdowedonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for kind comments. It's a great business to meet nice people and find so many things in common.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Jim and Mary are the most gracious of hosts and could not have been more helpful and Jim cooks a mean breakfast! They also gave us some good tips for dinner. The family lodge is very roomy and really comfortable and very well priced.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Cooking breakfast is a highlight of the day for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.8 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
23 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Lodge

Property: Heartland Lodge
Address: 19 North West Arch, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Lodge is purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation. The rooms in the lodge are all spacious, with full sized ensuite bathrooms with spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing