We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heartland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heartland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our second stay at Heartland and if anything it was even more enjoyable than the first. The accommodation is superb and the food is wonderful.Breakfast is freshly cooked and is amongst the best we have had in a NZ Homestay. Mary and Jim made us feel so welcome it really was like staying with friends. The Lodge is ideally located for visiting the Mt Cook area and we just hope that we shall have the opportunity to stay here again for a third time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had the most wonderful stay. Heartland is a very apt name because the hosts Jim and Mary are all heart. Aside from our gorgeous rooms and the delightful garden, the hospitality is second to none. Afternoon drinks and nibbles, scrumptious breakfast and even a little bag of home cooked Anzac biscuits to take on our cycle trip ... Jim and Mary go over and above and that leaves a wonderful memory of a place we hope to come back to one day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place sets the benchmark. Our hosts Jim and Mary were the most helpful we have found, providing advice and information. Our room was beautiful. The evening aperitifs and hors d'oeuvres were an unexpected delight. The breakfast was first class. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipH2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I used to doubt if Twizel is a nice place for overnight stay and it turned out to be the best choice over Mt Cook area. Heartland lodge is definitely the best of best in this peaceful small town. Driving through the woody road at the edge of Twizel, you won't miss a beautiful gate inside of which there is a large front yard full of flowers- that is heartland. Jim and Mary is the loveliest couple we met in New Zealand, making us feeling at home at the first moment of arrival. We were so warmly treated with the welcome notes for our honeymoon and fresh roses in room. All three rooms are gorgeous and super clean. Jim and Mary were so nice upgrading our stay to Aoraki room as a special offer which is so much appreciated by my husband and myself. The room is very large, comfortable and the decorations were stylish with good sense of art. We had a wonderful night in heartland, enjoying the best dinner in town according to Jim’s recommendation, talking with Jim and Mary and the only pity was the cloudy day without a chance to see the milky way. Jim helped us checking the weather of Mt Cook area and encouraged us to go hiking even if time is very limited for Lake Tekapo. We followed his suggestion and found that day so much worthwhile staying at Mt Cook and Lake Pukaki instead of heading directly to Tekapo. Thank you, Jim and Mary. And special thanks for the tasty homemade cookie. – Sicheng & Jane

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cainfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at Heartland Lodge recently and really loved it. We were not expecting it to be such a home-style lodge and when Jim welcomed us in the car park we were pleasantly surprised. Both Jim and Mary were very gracious and interesting hosts, making us feel very welcomed within the lodge. The lodge itself is very beautiful and very spacious. the rooms are huge with lovely views of the gardens and mountains beyond. everything is extremely well setup, clean and comfortable.

The breakfast in the morning was also great with some nice company from fellow guests and lovely food cooked by Mary and Jim.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would (will) go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
205 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The owner is very welcoming and likes to receive people.
The place is very calm, this a bed & breakfast accomodation like.
The accomodation offered a good equipment.
Popies restaurant is a good choice to have dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Heartland was amongst our favorite stays throughout our country-wide tour of New Zealand. Staying with Jim & Mary reminded us being guests of family friends. We were there during the quiet time of year, and as a result were the only guests. That allowed us to enjoy some great conversation around the fireplace in the living room. It was clear that Jim & Mary enjoyed running their B&B, and they were naturals.

The room was very nice. We had plenty of blankets in case we needed them, and the bathroom was spotless and had nice towels, soap, shampoo, etc. We had a nice view of the mountains too. The common area had a nice TV, stereo, fireplace, and some books and magazines.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious and we still talk about it two months later. They made pancakes with fresh-sliced bananas, crispy bacon, and real maple syrup. We also had local fruit, honey, juice, coffee and more. It was so good I had to ask them for the pancake recipe.

We had a long drive the next morning so unfortunately we were not able to linger after breakfast in the morning. They sent us away with directions, some sites to see along the way, and some delicious anzac biscuits in case we got hungry. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area, and recommend it to anyone looking for B&B accommodations near Mt. Cook.

We do recommend you confirm your directions before arriving. Even though we had the latest GPS map from Garmin, the address was not found. Google maps was accurate however. It's easy enough to find once you know where you are going.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janices7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Cooking breakfast and the evening chat are the highlights of looking after our guests. Everyone has their story and everything is interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
1.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 7 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#2 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 7 in Twizel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Lodge

Property: Heartland Lodge
Address: 19 North West Arch, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Lodge is purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation. The rooms in the lodge are all spacious, with full sized ensuite bathrooms with spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Heartland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing