We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food coffee and atmosphere!”
Review of Shawty's Cafe

Shawty's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since its beginnings in 2005, Shawtys has built up a strong reputation, synonymous for fine food and great espresso. A destination in the Mackenzie Country. Open 7 days from 8.30am till late over the summer months with reduced hours during the winter season. Shawtys has a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, and cabinet food available, and our chef's are committed to providing you with great qualiy food at an affordable price. With a comprehensive gourmet pizza menu and great range of gluten free and vegetarian options there is something to suit everyones taste.Step into warm surroundings and take in the "New York" inspired decor. Shawtys recently underwent an amazing facelift and would not be out of place in a bustling city scene. A new look has led to a renewed focus on excellent quality wines and an array of craft beers. Shawtys offers a dining experience of high standard in a relaxed setting, perfect for an intimate dinner with friends or larger gathering. We aim to leave a lasting impression on our customers with great service and we invite you to check us out.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food coffee and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great place to relax and enjoy a coffee or pizza! Always has yummy cabinet food and the best coffee in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank CharlotteLee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Shawtys. Your loyalty is our absolute objective and we value you as a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    134
    37
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twizel
1 review
“Always a great spot”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

You can rely on these guys to deliver great food and coffee. Never been disappointed and we are there a lot. Great spot

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for your ongoing support and loyalty and for taking the time to review Shawty's cafe, your feedback is important. Glad you are liking the new outdoor area, we hope to have new seating out there too by summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food, coffee and service”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Shawty's is a must visit. Great place to eat and drink, good outdoor seating in the sun out of the prevailing wind.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaller445, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks so much for your review and ongoing loyalty, it is so important to us - feel free to always let us know how we can improve things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My favourite place to visit in Twizel. A unique restaurant for a small town. Excellent professional service with delicious food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A great place to dine :)”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Shawty's is a fantastically set up and cultured Cafe. The coffee and food are high quality, and I would say the best restaurant/coffee shop in Twizel. I find myself going frequently for a hot drink. Costs are a factor, but I take isolation of the town in consideration - the costs aren't ridiculous. Shawty's is a must when thinking for a coffee or meal stop, even for a light meal. Pizza is a specialty! Costumer service is always happy, bouncy and interesting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shawty's Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Shawty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing