We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cafe Food”
Review of Poppies Cafe

Poppies Cafe
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$26
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At Poppies Cafe & Restaurant we pride ourselves on giving you a great memorable experience. We have a large vegetable garden & glasshouse where we grow a wide range of organic herbs & vegetables. Our chefs use only the finest local ingredients, Mt Cook Salmon, Lamb rack, Appletree Pork, local Beef fillet ( free range & grass fed). We offer a fantastic range of locally produced wine & craft beer. With alfresco dining and some of the most picturesque scenery in the world, come and enjoy the best service, food, wine, beer & coffee Twizel has to offer.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Cafe Food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our group had breakfast at Poppies Café in Twizel and found the food and service to be very good. They were able to accommodate our group of nine without any problems and everyone found something to their liking. Servings were fairly generous and tasty. The only downside is the view - there is a view off to one side of the mountains but the café is situated opposite workshops in the small industrial area of Twizel and views reflect that. Still, the food is worth the visit and prices were on a par with similar cafes elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppiesTwizel, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! Glad you enjoyed breakfast here with us at Poppies Cafe! It is unfortunate that it was not warm enough for you to sit outside and take in the views but I hope that you enjoyed your trip and the wonderful scenery that New Zealand has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    234
    41
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akaroa
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice cafe!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stop here every year on our way home from Queenstown. Poppies Café doesn't disappoint. It's warm inside with the fire blazing and the food is delicious. A real gem in Twizel!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppiesTwizel, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It is so nice to read your review. I'm glad that you enjoy your visits to Poppies Cafe so much and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twizel, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to take your friends”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The meals are divine and its great to sit outside in summer and enjoy the view. The chef is an expert on flavour ... and presentation rather special.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppiesTwizel, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the restaurant and the food. We certainly pride ourselves in the quality of food, both in presentation and taste. Look forward to seeing you again in the restaurant soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“busy for a reason”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great food - restaurant fill to the brim (for good reason given the food) - but consequently very very noisy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppiesTwizel, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write your review, glad you were able to enjoy the food and the atmosphere here at Poppies. The restaurant can get a little noisy when busy, my apologies for that. We are constantly looking at different ways to improve the noise here and have a few ideas up our sleeves! Hope to see you again at some point in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Poppies is a delightful restaurant that always delivers. Our waiter was from France and was a very pleasant young man who was working his way through NZ. Well done Poppies for employing him, he made for interesting conversation and was a very good waiter. The menu is small but very thing is very tasty. The fire place and couches make for a very relaxing evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Y-one19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppiesTwizel, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for your review! Max was an asset to Poppies during his time here and we enjoyed working with him. He has moved on to his next venture now and we have a lovely new team. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Poppies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing