We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #17 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Everything appeared to work for us,room clean and comfortable,excellent facilities, a pity we only stayed one night. One must give 5 stars plus for value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magussevrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    30
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hotel was in a convenient location, easy to find. The room was smallish, but very comfortable. The bed was very easy to sleep well in. The bathroom was spotless, with a good shower with lots of hot water. The whole hotel was extremely warm on a very cold weekend. Breakfast was excellent, with hot food freshly-made to order and beautifully presented. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank janesk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good location- walking distance to amenities. Lovely guest's room with fantastic views, books, magazines and free internet. Delicious breakfast. Pity wifi did not work well in bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Lake Wanaka Lodge in Wanaka for 1-night in April during a tour of New Zealand on route to Fox Glacier having travelled from Te Anau. We had booked a King-Bed studio on the internet a number of months in advance of our visit. On arrival we we told we had been allocated a family room (room 10) instead which gave us that extra bit of space. Lake Wanaka Lodge is situated in a quiet residential area with only a short walk (5-10 minutes max.) down to the town and lakeside.

The room was decorated very nicely in neutral colours and the tea, coffee, biscuits and chocolates were welcome after a long drive. The bathroom had a powerful shower (lots of hot water) although the fan did sound a bit like a plane taking off so we used torches at night to avoid disturbing other guests! Our room was on first floor on the side of the Lodge and had a lovely view towards the mountains, along with a tiny balcony.

WiFi internet is free with an allocated passcode. However, it was not a good connection and kept ‘timing out’ and freezing. There was a computer in the guests lounge though which may have had a better signal. The very big guest lounge is also upstairs with many comfortable sofas, books and an amazing view over the lake towards the mountains. There was even a large balcony with chairs although it was a bit chilly to sit out during our visit.

Breakfast is included which was very useful for us as we were only staying for 1-night and did not want to self cater. The breakfast was good with a range of fruit, yoghurt and cereals, with bacon and eggs cooked fresh to order - very nice.

The hosts were very helpful and wanted to ensure that we had all we needed for a comfortable stay which we certainly had. This is a great place to either stop over or stay a bit longer to enjoy Lake Wanaka.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Lake Wanaka Lodge is kind of old fashioned but in a nice way. Run by Japanese hosts, it is very clean, very comfortable and makes a great place to stay. Its location is excellent - easy walking distance down to restaurants and bars while being quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was included in the price and it was of a high quality and presented with impeccable service. My only negatives were the bed and pillowed which I found overly firm. Otherwise can't fault it

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton
Level Contributor
193 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

On arrival we were shown to a lower floor room but mentioned to our host that we had requested a room on an upper floor. He immediately showed us to a room upstairs which was
very clean and suited us very well. Breakfast included bacon and eggs and was good. The guest lounge was very comfortable and benefited from free wifi which was great. Wifi in our room was intermittent.

Ten minutes walk to the lake, shops and restaurants made this a very convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We were very happy with our stay here. The hosts were very pleasant on arrival, took us up to our room and advised of all the amenties. The room itself was very clean and well presented.

Free wi-fi in our room was great, some other places we stayed charged for wi-fi. The common room looked very nice with lots of activities and had a great view, unfortunately we didn't have enough time to make use of it.

Breakfast (included) was fantastic, the eggs were beautifully presented, not to mention yummy and the hosts were again eager to ensure we were happy with everything.

The location is away from the lake but it's still a walkable distance and you do get nice lake and mountain views.

Overall, fantastic value and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Wanaka Lodge

Property: Lake Wanaka Lodge
Address: 24 Tenby Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing