We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant motel with good facilities”
Review of Lake Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A short walk from the centre of Wanaka (where we swam in the lake 21C I would guess) this is a pleasant motel with some nice extra facilities.
A very good breakfast was included in the rate.
A very nice feature was a large common room; a combination library and lounge with comfortable chairs and a balcony with a nice view.
Very friendly and helpful greeting at reception.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

4 of us stayed here in a shared room with 2 king beds. There was plenty of room. Nice and close to town.
Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and delicious.
Great value for money given the peak season.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKRoss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The lodge js managed by the owner and his family. They are really helpful, friendly and alwayS try to personalize your stay. The hotel is neat, the library and TV room is nice and it is. Agood place for games after a long day out. The rooms are pretty clean, organized and always the owners leave cookies and sweets for your amusement. The room temperaures were always perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Everything appeared to work for us,room clean and comfortable,excellent facilities, a pity we only stayed one night. One must give 5 stars plus for value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magussevrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hotel was in a convenient location, easy to find. The room was smallish, but very comfortable. The bed was very easy to sleep well in. The bathroom was spotless, with a good shower with lots of hot water. The whole hotel was extremely warm on a very cold weekend. Breakfast was excellent, with hot food freshly-made to order and beautifully presented. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank janesk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good location- walking distance to amenities. Lovely guest's room with fantastic views, books, magazines and free internet. Delicious breakfast. Pity wifi did not work well in bedroom.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Lake Wanaka Lodge in Wanaka for 1-night in April during a tour of New Zealand on route to Fox Glacier having travelled from Te Anau. We had booked a King-Bed studio on the internet a number of months in advance of our visit. On arrival we we told we had been allocated a family room (room 10) instead which gave us that extra bit of space. Lake Wanaka Lodge is situated in a quiet residential area with only a short walk (5-10 minutes max.) down to the town and lakeside.

The room was decorated very nicely in neutral colours and the tea, coffee, biscuits and chocolates were welcome after a long drive. The bathroom had a powerful shower (lots of hot water) although the fan did sound a bit like a plane taking off so we used torches at night to avoid disturbing other guests! Our room was on first floor on the side of the Lodge and had a lovely view towards the mountains, along with a tiny balcony.

WiFi internet is free with an allocated passcode. However, it was not a good connection and kept ‘timing out’ and freezing. There was a computer in the guests lounge though which may have had a better signal. The very big guest lounge is also upstairs with many comfortable sofas, books and an amazing view over the lake towards the mountains. There was even a large balcony with chairs although it was a bit chilly to sit out during our visit.

Breakfast is included which was very useful for us as we were only staying for 1-night and did not want to self cater. The breakfast was good with a range of fruit, yoghurt and cereals, with bacon and eggs cooked fresh to order - very nice.

The hosts were very helpful and wanted to ensure that we had all we needed for a comfortable stay which we certainly had. This is a great place to either stop over or stay a bit longer to enjoy Lake Wanaka.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Wanaka Lodge

Address: 24 Tenby Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £68 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing