We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kitchen and common area”
Review of YHA Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great kitchen and common area”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great place - would have given it top marks for everything, apart from the fact that 1 hour after I arrived, I had some backpacking friends pop in to visit and the staff pretty much made them feel unwelcome and told them to leave.

Otherwise perfect in a perfect place.

I'll return.

Room Tip: Mixed rooms are best - quiet and respectful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Domisjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    124
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
118
91
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This youth hostel is a delight. The staff are great, super helpful, and the hostel itself has more character than the usual predictable YHA, though it also has the usual high standard of YHA service and cleanliness.

My bunk room was in one of the self contained units in the backyard, with its own en suite bathroom and kitchenette so I didn't need use the excellent common kitchen in the main building. I liked the touch of a vase of wildflowers in the common room.

There's a barbecue and you can rent bikes. The funky boutique cinema is practically next door.

Highly recommended on all counts.

Room Tip: I loved the self contained units in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWBBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziano di Fiemme, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The best staff in the South Island! Helpful, smiley faces and always available for an extra suggestion. Loved the “quote of the day” board and the awesome movie nights, which I didn’t find anywhere else in the other hostels! Stunning view from the chill-out area and perfect spot to start some good one-day hikes on the surrounding peaks. So sad I had to leave so soon! Wanaka is a great town!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while skiing at Cardrona. It was perfect for us: the kitchen was useful for making meals, and there are some good eating and drinking places very nearby. We had a private room- room 13- which had a wonderful view over the lake and an en-suite bathroom. Only complaint would be that wifi isn't available for non-members which seems a bit mean. The hostel is comfy, warm and has friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 13 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Room was decent. Heater was not very powerful and tiny. Beds were alright, though the mattress was not the spring sort. Had our own private bathroom for the 4 share which was a big plus. Quite spacious room. Generally quite clean. YHA does not provide wifi to non-members.

Overall an okay stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xunliang_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Travelled here for 6 nights with a group of 6 and had a great time. Excellent central location, comfortable rooms and nice large kitchen and common area. Staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Louise27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's a really really nice hostel with a cozy athmosphere with their fire place. One of the better YHA hostels I've been to. (Guess it's the best YHA hostel) Offers you really everything you need for a stay in one of the best villages in new zealand.

Room Tip: If you do not pick the biggest dorm they will let you sleep in one of those little houses in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.1 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
216 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wanaka

Property: YHA Wanaka
Address: 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka YHA The Purple Cow)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Wanaka location offers uninterrupted views of Lake Wanaka and New Zealand's famed Southern Alps, with a range of warm and comfortable budget accommodation and great communal facilities. Our relaxed, welcoming vibe has generated rave reviews in the Lonely Planet. YHA Wanaka, Purple Cow offers an ideal retreat for the independent traveller looking to discover the exciting activities on offer in Lake Wanaka New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wanaka Purple Cow Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing