We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Ranked #39 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Otago Peninsula, NZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Wanaka”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This building appears to be Soviet era - dauntingly impersonal in scale. It was a very hot night, and the building captured even more heat - as you went upstairs it got worse. We had a 2nd floor ensuite which was great if tiny - I had to clean my teeth with my head underneath the shelf - but it meant we could leave windows open all night to try to cool the room down. However, the noise was dreadful - we stayed on a Friday night and there was shouting, shrieking, car doors slamming, cars revving etc.until around 3am. A great deal of it was people returning to the hostel, and being noisy both outside and inside the building - totally thoughtless behaviour. We didn't try to use the kitchen as it was too crowded including no room in the fridge. Not a good experience.

Room Tip: Windows essential if staying when hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi there, Sorry to hear you had a sleepless stay. I'm disappointed our Night Security didn't manage to keep the noise inside the hostel to a low level or at least offer you some earplugs that are free for light sleepers. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    96
    89
    52
    64
See reviews for
17
112
92
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was a pretty standard Base hostel, a little grubby in places but the showers were ok and the kitchen a reasonable size. However, I was given a room that was directly above the beer garden and bar, and loud, irritating club music thumped through the room into the early hours of the morning. This was not what I expected from a lovely small town like Wanaka! Also the food in the bar was not worth getting; it was 2 dollar taco night, and they were very small, barely a bite each. I tried to go and order more but the queue had got so big we were told there would be a very long wait for food and so I had to go elsewhere, which meant my 2 dollar taco night saving actually meant I ended up spending more somewhere else. All those groans aside - the crazy loud music being my biggest issue and meaning I wouldn't choose to stay there again - the staff were friendly and the beds cleaner than most other Base hostels.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi there, I'm terribly sorry to hear you couldn't sleep, there is nothing worse! There was obviously some confusion here because we could have shifted you away from the Saturday night crowd. I'm disappointed that staff did not offer to move you into a quiet room or even offer you earplugs which are free for light sleepers. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

stayed here over new years. booked three rooms almost a year in advanced after waiting 3 hours in the lobby after a 6 hour ride in 27 degree heat all 6 of us girls got shoved into a double room with one bathroom and all 6 suitcases taking up all floor space. certain staff were very unhelpful and did little to make our stay enjoyable. lucky the people there made it a better experience- although any noise was forbidden. would not stay here again due to the massive muck up and lack of service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dejnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi there. Goodness me, this isn't a pleasant read. I am so sorry to hear this. Please feel free to contact me personally on wanakagm@stayatbase.com if you are in Wanaka again, I will be sure to make sure your stay is a lot more smooth sailing and enjoyable. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff, clean though very small room. Our first room had a view only of a wall. But we were instantly given a room with a proper view.

But this morning, I went to the kitchen. In all my travels, mostly in India and ST Asia, I have never seen such a dirty and badly equipped kitchen. Most pans are burnt and have their handles missing. The utensils such as stirring spoons are burnt and damaged. The limited crockery is mismatched and cracked. Everyone was having to wash knives and forks before daring to use them. Completely unacceptable and no excuse.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sw19mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi. Thank you for bringing to our attention at the time of your stay, the lack of utensils and pans etc. We have replenished equipment and implemented a fuller cleaning schedule. Unfortunately things can go missing at the blink of an eye so it was very helpful having your feedback right away. Hope you're enjoying the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my friend in late Jan. We stayed in a double ensuite and were both pleasantly surprised. The room was very nice and had everything we needed - two beds, a toilet and shower...even a TV!! We were actually expecting it to be not as nice as it was because it was a backpackers but safe to say it's probably one of the nicest backpackers we've ever stayed at! It's in a very good location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only bad thing was we didn't sleep very well, as people were partying at the bar downstairs till 2/3 in the morning. Very good value for money and I definitely think it's worth it paying a little bit more to stay in the ensuite rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi there! Thank you for taking time to leave a lovely review. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful town :) Safe travels, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I understand hostels with bars are going to be louder then ones without but this place really went to far. The whole building was shaking under the base in the bar.3 nights i stayed there and honestly left shattered because couldnt sleep until 2-3am in the morning. When I went to ask why i was paying $33 for sanctuary which should have ensuite, tv and girls only where as i had none of these i was told i was in a quite area of the hostel! I couldnt believe it. This has put me completely off Base in general

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelle323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Goodness me this is not good. There is nothing worse when you can't get to sleep! Although we are a party place we still expect all of our guests be able to get a good night sleep. I'm disappointed that staff did not offer to move you into a quiet room. There was obviously some confusion here because we could have shifted you away from the Saturday night crowd. Furthermore it is a shame that they did not offer you earplugs which are free for light sleepers.
Apologies that we did not live up to your expectations this time around. The Sanctuary brand is certainly something we pride ourselves on and although not all of the rooms have a TV and ensuite, they do have the extra touches such as full-length mirrors, hair dryers, fresh towels and a free nightly glass of bubbly for each guest.
If you should visit Wanaka again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will ensure personally that your stay is comfortable and all smooth sailing!
Thank you ever so much for your feedback too.
Safe travels.
Darelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I booked at Base in Wanaka on Boxing Day via wotif.com as a last minute decision after having a particularly long and bad day. On arrival I was told that the room I had booked and paid for didn't actually exist as they were fully booked and wotif.com had not checked with them about their availability. Having being stuck in Wanaka alone with about 50kg of luggage, and having a horrible day, I proceeded to cry in despair at my impossible situation. The reception staff were amazing, and asked me to wait while they checked in a Kiwi Experience bus and would try and sort something for me once they could ascertain what space was available. In the end, I received the private ensuite room I had booked, which was clean and tidy and perfect for somewhere comfortable and private to stay for the night. The bar downstairs was a little noisy however as my window backed onto their courtyard, but other than that faultless. I would definitely recommend staying there again, the staff was amazing

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Property: Base Backpackers Wanaka
Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing