We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a backpackers!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Ranked #38 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We booked a room with own ensuite which was very clean & tidy. Our room was on the 2nd floor above the bar so party/bar noises could be heard. No complaints about that as we fully expected that being in a backpackers. The bar staff, meals & bar were all great as were the reception staff. Food was inexpensive & plentiful. The location couldn't be better. If you don't mind frivolity & fun then this is a great place at an affordable place to stay while in Wanaka

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankguth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hostel and the bar. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

This has to be by far the nicest, cleanest Base Hostel ever!!!

Rooms - spot on
Kitchen - clean, tidy, well equipped
Mint Bar - Great fun, nice music, free pool and lovely outside space

Within 2min walking distance to supermarket and Lake front.

10/10 Base - good job!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have visited BASE Wanaka about half a dozen times now, and it seems to get better on each visit! With great facilities, friendly staff, a supermarket next door and the beautiful vistas of Lake Wanaka just a five minute walk away, this is the hostel to beat.

And this is not to mention Mint bar - the best bar in town. Cheap drinks, a beer garden and regular social activities such as karoake and beer pong. It's the perfect place for a solo traveller to make friends and have fun.

You're always guaranteed a fun night here - I know I am!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hello! Thanks for the lovely review! Its been a pleasure hosting you each time you visit. Hope to see you again in the near future!! Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Staff was nice, the room was clean but holy cow it was noisy. For starters check in went smooth, went to our room.. Used the key card and low and behold there was a naked guy in the room-his reaction "bloody h#ll it's occupied"! We went back to check in and advised that there was a naked australian guy in the room to which the reception replied "oh that guy? he's a new zealander he would be offended if he knew you called him a aussie"... My response was you can't unsee that sort of thing... Cheap place, location is good, staff is friendly but minor league (hey it's a hostel..) but bring ear plugs. I would probably pick another place next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi there, thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the town, sorry to hear about the noise. We actually have free ear plugs on offer at reception, its a shame you weren't aware of this. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This building appears to be Soviet era - dauntingly impersonal in scale. It was a very hot night, and the building captured even more heat - as you went upstairs it got worse. We had a 2nd floor ensuite which was great if tiny - I had to clean my teeth with my head underneath the shelf - but it meant we could leave windows open all night to try to cool the room down. However, the noise was dreadful - we stayed on a Friday night and there was shouting, shrieking, car doors slamming, cars revving etc.until around 3am. A great deal of it was people returning to the hostel, and being noisy both outside and inside the building - totally thoughtless behaviour. We didn't try to use the kitchen as it was too crowded including no room in the fridge. Not a good experience.

Room Tip: Windows essential if staying when hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there, Sorry to hear you had a sleepless stay. I'm disappointed our Night Security didn't manage to keep the noise inside the hostel to a low level or at least offer you some earplugs that are free for light sleepers. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was a pretty standard Base hostel, a little grubby in places but the showers were ok and the kitchen a reasonable size. However, I was given a room that was directly above the beer garden and bar, and loud, irritating club music thumped through the room into the early hours of the morning. This was not what I expected from a lovely small town like Wanaka! Also the food in the bar was not worth getting; it was 2 dollar taco night, and they were very small, barely a bite each. I tried to go and order more but the queue had got so big we were told there would be a very long wait for food and so I had to go elsewhere, which meant my 2 dollar taco night saving actually meant I ended up spending more somewhere else. All those groans aside - the crazy loud music being my biggest issue and meaning I wouldn't choose to stay there again - the staff were friendly and the beds cleaner than most other Base hostels.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there, I'm terribly sorry to hear you couldn't sleep, there is nothing worse! There was obviously some confusion here because we could have shifted you away from the Saturday night crowd. I'm disappointed that staff did not offer to move you into a quiet room or even offer you earplugs which are free for light sleepers. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

stayed here over new years. booked three rooms almost a year in advanced after waiting 3 hours in the lobby after a 6 hour ride in 27 degree heat all 6 of us girls got shoved into a double room with one bathroom and all 6 suitcases taking up all floor space. certain staff were very unhelpful and did little to make our stay enjoyable. lucky the people there made it a better experience- although any noise was forbidden. would not stay here again due to the massive muck up and lack of service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dejnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there. Goodness me, this isn't a pleasant read. I am so sorry to hear this. Please feel free to contact me personally on wanakagm@stayatbase.com if you are in Wanaka again, I will be sure to make sure your stay is a lot more smooth sailing and enjoyable. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 46 in Wanaka
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Archway Motels
Archway Motels
#16 of 20 in Wanaka
142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Altamont Lodge
Altamont Lodge
#6 of 46 in Wanaka
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £30 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing