We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip ever”

Eco Wanaka Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco Wanaka Lake, Island and Mountain Adventures offers - Lake Cruise & island Walk - Rare flightless birds, a magical lake on top of an island and a unique opportunity to plant a native tree as part of this eco-experience. Rob Roy Glacier Guided Trek - The World Heritage area's Jewel, Rob Roy has it all! Swingbridge, Rainforest, waterfalls, icefalls, and comical Keas all in one day! Walk in "THE HOBBIT's" footsteps - The Misty Mountains Heli Hike starts at 2100m, on the very set that was used in all 3 trilogies - With 3 "Lord of the Rings" film sites also seen from this paramount site. Magical panoramas can be seen from this commanding site from the movie featured, glacier cloaked Mt Aspiring at 3033m to the Laketown of Wanaka far below! 1400m above worry level- The Alpine Lakes Heli Hike is a pure wilderness experience- 3 pristine emerald clear lakes with a commanding view of the Matukituki Valley - As easy or as challenging as you like, this incredible World Heritage area is part of the glaciated Mt Aspiring National Park. Just stunning photographic views!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

If someone asks me to describe the whole tour with one word, it would be exllent. The guide, Chris, was a fun-loving, exciting person with a lot of experience. The tour consists of seeing some magnificent views and climbing mountains.
It is just so magnificent that you don't even want to leave, I will highly recommend this activity to everyone.

Thank Randomk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

We do the best we can, the easy stroll that gradually climbs to the amazing lake, right on top of an island at 150m, is achievable to virtually all levels of fitness, and even if you want to stay at the Landing area to take in the bird calls and the rare and cheeky Buff Wekas, then it is still an amazing trip to this introduced predator free island.
from the very top of the island, the panorama is spectacular, and a great place for our famous "High Tea"- Just yummy cookies and a hot or cold drink with the best view from a cafe in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chris riley"
in 38 reviews
"mou waho island"
in 66 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 25 reviews
"nature walk"
in 20 reviews
"lake cruise"
in 17 reviews
"buff weka"
in 12 reviews
"tea and biscuits"
in 12 reviews
"tree planting"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 44 reviews
"special island"
in 4 reviews
"boat ride"
in 15 reviews
"outstanding guide"
in 3 reviews
"free environment"
in 3 reviews
"flightless birds"
in 4 reviews
"his passion"
in 9 reviews
"guided walk"
in 6 reviews
"conservation work"
in 3 reviews
Filter

175 - 179 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Chris was very informative, and he was very passionate and enthusiastic..very nice to be in his company. He made the trip. If you are not an adrenaline junkie and you are like me, over the threshold of week-long hiking ( i am too old for these now!)..this trip is fantastic... simple message for this trip: IT IS JUST NICE!

1  Thank francisfhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Nice to have you along too!
We pace this walk at nature ramble, stopping to show you the various plants, birds and animals to be seen on our well formed track to the swimmable Lake on top. We can supply walking poles also.
The walk is easy/moderate, with people from 3 years old to 87 years old walking it unassisted.
Also- the Walk is optional, there is a very good picnic area with 2 restrooms that is alive with bird life singing and nesting in the trees above. We can supply hot/cold drinks & cookies here as well as on the top of the island with notice, if you wish to take it easy near the beautiful clear lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We did the Mou Waho Nature Walk and Lake Cruise at the suggestion of the staff of the Te Wanaka Lodge. It was just the two of us on the tour, which probably helped. The trip consists of a ride across Lake Wanaka to the northernmost island in the lake, followed by a nature walk on the island. I confess that I expected this to be a nice time, but a bit ho-hum. Wrong. Our guide, Chris, made everything about this trip awesome. He was enthusiastic in a way that almost no one who has done a job for 10+ years can be. And he knew just about everything there is to know about nature in New Zealand. The education we received on this topic really made the rest of our two week visit better. Chris also made our nature walk exciting, as we stalked family of buff weka, etc. Highly recommended.

Thank AlexM3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

It is not hard to be enthusiastic when your "Office" changes every day!

Lots of Fun watching Mum Weka aggressively moving rocks and logs with her beak to find bugs to feed the little jet black tennis balls with beaks and feet, following right behind her-
The chicks are very cute!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Got the family to the dock for a 9am trip and the fog was pretty thick. After waiting for over half an hour past the time the trip was supposed to leave the tour leader said it wasn't worth going out as we wouldn't see much. We didn't want to lose the money we had paid for this rather expensive trip and the tour guy said no problem you can go later in the day. We had to be in Queenstown later so we couldn't defer to the afternoon. He said he would back up our claim for a refund...
Long story short...after a long fight with the company we just got our money refunded, three months later. If they cancel on you be warned, you will have to go through long, long arguments for a refund.

Thank Yellodog117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We are extremely sad that you have had this experience with our company, we delayed that departure purely for the fact that the fog in question was only localized to the 1km area of the bay we depart from, Our guides had verified this localized fog clearance visually to the Captain by phone, which he advised you of.
The island was clear and sunny, as we informed you prior to your leaving the dock.

The trip commenced with the 2 remaining clients into the sunshine 5 minutes outside of the bay, after you departed and they were very happy with this experience.
Fog like this is an extremely rare experience in Wanaka on the lake.

We approved your refund promptly and we are very sorry that the booking agent who you dealt with, took 3 months to refund this to you.
Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience, but this refund timing was out of our hands as a company at this end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I did the Mou Waho Nature Walk & Lake Cruise as part of a group in Wanaka for a conference - it was a great trip and our guide was aweosme too - highly recomend this trip - the views are stunning.

Thank Nat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Great shot looking over the Arethusa Pool, 150m above Lake Wanaka on a moody day.
This island is always different, and with a large group, there is always something of interest to all tastes, Photograhy, bird watching, geology and just pristine wilderness without a house in sight anywhere..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eco Wanaka Adventures also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Eco Wanaka Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing