We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect day trip in Wanaka”

Eco Wanaka Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco Wanaka Lake, Island and Mountain Adventures offers - Lake Cruise & island Walk - Rare flightless birds, a magical lake on top of an island and a unique opportunity to plant a native tree as part of this eco-experience. Rob Roy Glacier Guided Trek - The World Heritage area's Jewel, Rob Roy has it all! Swingbridge, Rainforest, waterfalls, icefalls, and comical Keas all in one day! Walk in "THE HOBBIT's" footsteps - The Misty Mountains Heli Hike starts at 2100m, on the very set that was used in all 3 trilogies - With 3 "Lord of the Rings" film sites also seen from this paramount site. Magical panoramas can be seen from this commanding site from the movie featured, glacier cloaked Mt Aspiring at 3033m to the Laketown of Wanaka far below! 1400m above worry level- The Alpine Lakes Heli Hike is a pure wilderness experience- 3 pristine emerald clear lakes with a commanding view of the Matukituki Valley - As easy or as challenging as you like, this incredible World Heritage area is part of the glaciated Mt Aspiring National Park. Just stunning photographic views!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A perfect day trip in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

From the moment we met Chris Riley at the Lake Wanaka Marina we knew we were in for a fun day. Chris was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and funny as he guided us around the lake, history and islands of Wanaka. The views are spectacular from start to finish, but it becomes a more unique experience because you can feel Chris' passion and excitement throughout the day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rubiacktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you, but it's not hard to be enthusiastic about a unique island like this!
special thanks for the review, we do our best to show this jewel of Lake Wanaka off.
Leaving it in better condition, when we plant a tree on every trip before we leave, is certainly a good feeling and an essential part of our green policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    13
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A must in Wanakae”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The lake cruise and short hike on Mou Waho island nature reserves are one of the best experiences of a 3 weeks trip covering both islands. While the views, unique flora and fauna justify the trip in their own right, it is Eco Wanaka's bigger than life founder Chris Riley's almost obsessive passion for the region and its preservation that made the experience truly unique. Recommended without any reservations, truly inspirational.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank max_demian_gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
This island ticks all the boxes that you want out of a trip on Lake Wanaka-
A nice graded walk to the lake on top, photography, mountain views, glaciers, rare birds, panoramas, geckos, varied vegetation and we plant a native tree on every trip-
4500 trees so far, the first are already feeding the birds!
-Not hard to be passionate about REALLY making a difference to NZ ecology.
Bring back the bird song!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding nature trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just to add our voice to the many previous positive reviews! Thank you to Chris for a wonderful guided tour of the island with a " lake within a lake". My family were fortunate to visit on a spectacularly warm and sunny day where the views from the top were amazing. The delightful buff weka and the way Chris interested our daughters in the weta, gecko and tree planting all made for a very special day out. The swim in the lake at the top was one of the nicest swims I think I shall ever have!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Tghis island is like Treasure island to kids, i get a kick out of the questions they ask, and the answer is absorbed like a sponge! Natural history education and learning is fun with all these insects, geckos and birds- All having a unique an interesting story to each of them.
Swimming on a lake on top of an island sure is refreshing too! -Clothes and all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
“Best tour yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Chris clearly loves his work and welcomed us eagerly into this world of beauty, nature and wildlife that has clearly captured his soul. He was informative, funny, attentive, service-oriented and especially delightful - focused on giving back. It was a pleasure to spend 1/2 day of our lives with him and the birds and flora of the island in the middle of Lake Wanaka.

We had already been on a guided tour of the Routeburn Track, Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound and this was the best tour yet.

Thanks Chris!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Car856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks for that glowing review, but it's not hard to be happy and passionate in an office like Mou Waho island!
A genuine pleasure to reveal the secrets of this magic little island to you both...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best trip ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

If someone asks me to describe the whole tour with one word, it would be exllent. The guide, Chris, was a fun-loving, exciting person with a lot of experience. The tour consists of seeing some magnificent views and climbing mountains.
It is just so magnificent that you don't even want to leave, I will highly recommend this activity to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Randomk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
We do the best we can, the easy stroll that gradually climbs to the amazing lake, right on top of an island at 150m, is achievable to virtually all levels of fitness, and even if you want to stay at the Landing area to take in the bird calls and the rare and cheeky Buff Wekas, then it is still an amazing trip to this introduced predator free island.
from the very top of the island, the panorama is spectacular, and a great place for our famous "High Tea"- Just yummy cookies and a hot or cold drink with the best view from a cafe in NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eco Wanaka Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Eco Wanaka Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing