We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Lime Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lime Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We had a fabulous stay at Limetree Lodge. Our hosts, Rebecca and Sally were wonderfully hospitable and continually strived to make our stay at both the lodge and Wanaka as pleasurable as possible. We had two young children (5&2) with us and they were entertained by feeding the animals every morning and running around in the vast open spaces surrounding the lodge.

The rooms were stylishly appointed and are easily the rival of a good 5 star boutique hotel. Breakfasts were excellent - especially the home made museli! And the views were magnificent.

Our stay here was without flaw and it is a long time since I have thought or written that.

Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
83
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2009

It is all about the small touches. Lime Tree does this very well. Thanks for a wonderful and relaxing stay.

Sally & Rebecca balance very well the Guest House requirement of introducing you to other Guests & inviting you to enjoy joint evening drinks and nibbles (the food was sensational) , but still ensuring that you maintain a total feel of privacy & relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnasSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Beautiful, quiet location, stunning view, very tastfully decorated interior, very pleasant and comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast, attentive and helpful hosts! The Lime Tree is on our 'have to return to" list.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Of our 3 weeks in New Zealand we enjoyed our stay at The Lime Tree Lodge the best. This was down to Sally and Rebecca who run it, their attention to detail, kindness and a feeling that this is home not just a stop over. We felt that they go the extra mile which makes such a difference when you're so far from home and nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful gardens and very peaceful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandPorsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pacific
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Lime Tree Lodge for a second time this year. We so enjoyed our 4 night stay in July that we decided to return for a week this time. Rebecca and Sally run an outstanding boutique lodge, no detail is overlooked and they have an instinctive flair for how to make their guests feel completely pampered and at ease, and we had the sense that were visiting good friends. The guest areas are modern and impeccably clean, and the gardens beautiful.
We stayed in the Black Peak Suite on both occasions, which has a very large master bedroom, dressing room, bathroom with tub & shower, small bunk-bed room and a lovely lounge area ( with fireplace & kitchenette). The decor is uncomplicated, high quality and comfortable. Lovely views of the mountains from the bedroom, which has doors opening up onto the garden. The Black Peak Suite has its own entrance and is located away from the other guest rooms, so there was zero disturbance from other guests.
We loved Rebecca's breakfast with homemade goodies, eggs from the resident chickens and delicious coffee!
The lodge is located in the countryside, about an 8 minute drive from Wanaka center, on a large, well maintained piece of property, with good views of distant mountains and surrounding hills.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superpollo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay – the second for my husband and me and first for our kids, parents and friends. The suites were comfortable, cozy and well-equipped. We will miss the delectable hot breakfasts (especially the amazing grilled portabellos, multigrain bread and eggs fresh from their own hens), tasty water, friendly ‘pets’, superb fire-places...and Bronna's lovely meals with lots of NZ Pinot. Rebecca and Sally provided help with bookings, reservations, a ride-on toy for our little one, and special dietary requirements. It made for a perfect trip!

Patty Gaw and family
Hong Kong

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowjoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

In the middle of a hectic year our fours days at Lime Tree Lodge was a godsend. We had heard great reviews about the lodge, but any expectations we had were exceeded by a mile. Rebecca and Sally are attentive friendly hosts who could not have done more for us. We will be back !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
4.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
5.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Lodge

Property: Lime Tree Lodge
Address: Crnr Ballantyne Road and State Highway 6, Wanaka, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lime Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing