We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best place in New Zealand - lovely in every way.”
Review of Lime Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lime Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best place in New Zealand - lovely in every way.”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Sadly we had only one night at Lime Tree Lodge. A group of 7 (2 couples and singles) for our last night (for some of us) in New Zealand. To end on a very high note on our 3 week holiday in New Zealand was fabulous. The room was perfectly appointed - robes, slippers, sparkling water, chocolate treats. Plenty of bathing items to use and big fluffy towels. Sally greeted us and offered teas/coffee and cookies upon our arrival. She arranged dinner reservations in town - The Landing - Excellent! The landscaping is managed primarily by Rebecca and it is stunning. We had a rainy visit so we could not enjoy the beautiful pool and outside games. Our breakfast was made to order by Rebecca and Sally (they make such a great team) - with their farm fresh free range eggs - wonderful and cooked perfectly. You will experience just the right amount of everything at the Lime Tree Lodge. Comforts of home, but so much better! Gooooooo there - do not miss this beautiful place when you are in New Zealand. If you do, you should just kick yourself right now!! ;-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
83
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This Lodge was the highlight of our 4 week holiday. The hosts (Sally and Rebecca) take great pride in the Lodge and this shines through with their wonderful attention to detail. We felt very special as they took great care to ensure our holiday was a special treat to remember in years to come. We can't wait to return during the winter season to enjoy the log fire and winter treats. We were so pleased we had the 3 nights to really enjoy the Lodge and the Company. We had the time to look at the stars and wander through the extensive gardens. Make sure you take advantage of the visiting Chef and the 3-course meal, amazing food and wine with a commentary.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed 3 days at the Lime Tree Lodge and really loved it. Incredibly friendly owners, always helpful, full of great recommendations and surprising with special treats. 5/10min from action-packed Wanaka city centre, located in beautiful natural setting offering the perfect balance. Rooms are comfortable with terrace in a beautiful garden. A real treat!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdhulst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Sally and Rebecca were first class hosts. Whilst slightly outside of Wanaka, the property is in a great spot with with good views and fantastic ameneities. The complimentary drinks in the evening was a lovely touch and gave us the opportunity to meet other guests. I have no hesitation in recommendnig Lime Tree Lodge

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborinaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The Black Peak Suite was true luxury and had everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The food, homemade snacks and cancapes were delicious and well presented and the staff were very friendly and helpful, tending to our every need. The facilities in general are top notch and the lounge, patio and pool area well maintained and comfortable. Although we didnt use it, the free shuttle service into town is a good idea if you want to go out for dinner and have drinks, and then take a 10 minute taxi ride back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Having just spent a month travelling around New Zealand, staying in over a dozen different hotels and guest houses, "Lime Tree Lodge" is one of only two locations that my wife and I felt we must review on Trip Advisor once we returned. Why? Because although the standard of our accommodation for the month was generally very high (well done Trailfinders) "Lime Tree Lodge" was something very special indeed. Rebecca and Sally (the owners) have created a wonderful retreat from the real world at LTL. The location is stunning (views of the Southern Alps at breakfast, acres of Otago countryside on all sides), the accommodation is immaculate (beautifully designed and SO comfortable) and the service is second to none (friendly, helpful and never missing a beat in their efforts to enhance your stay). It's the attention to detail that really sets LTL apart - the sort of place where you think "Wouldn't it be good if they did (insert as applicable)" and then discover that they already do it. We arrived here towards the end of our time in NZ and it was just the perfect way to finish. Having stayed in more than a few such places in our time, it's fair to say that LTL is not only a standard setter for luxury B&B's in New Zealand but across the world. Do yourself a favour and pay them a visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrs_NZ_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Lime Tree Lodge is an exquisite B&B in Wanaka. We stayed for 5 nights for a ski trip in August and would definitely return. The accommodation is luxurious and the beds are one of the comfiest I have slept in. It is a very peaceful B&B set in beautiful grounds just on the outskirts of Wanaka with magnificent views of the snow capped mountains. What is special about this B&B is the hosts. Rebecca and Sally make you feel so welcome and at home from the minute you arrive. They cook a fabulous breakfast, made to order with all local produce. Of an evening they serve a drink of your choice and canapes which you can enjoy in your room or in front of the roaring fireplace. They are very knowledgeable about the area and can make fantastic recommendations on where to go and what to eat. When it comes to B&B's, this is definitely one of the best I have ever stayed in. Rooms are cosy and have everything you need, with gorgeous ammenities. The moisturiser was my favourite with the most fantastic scent. Our 5 nights at Lime Tree Lodge was too short so will have to return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
5.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
783 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Lodge

Property: Lime Tree Lodge
Address: Crnr Ballantyne Road and State Highway 6, Wanaka, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lime Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing