We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Outstanding”

Wanaka River Journeys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wanaka River Journeys is a unique half day wilderness jet boating adventure. See hanging glaciers, Lord of The Rings locations and ice carved landscapes; enjoy local Maori culture and a 50 minute remote bush walk in the Matukituki Valley, gateway to the Mount Aspiring National Park... More than a jet boat ride.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Absolutely beautiful scenery, exhilarating jet boat ride with just enough speed to make it fun but not terrifying. Very peaceful and reasonably easy short walk to a wonderful waterfall, with sensational vistas for Lord of the Rings/Hobbit fans. Pack a snack and remember to wear good boots as the walk is a little slippery in places. Excellent pick up and drop off service...a real highlight and highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    12
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This is ONE activity you must do in Wanaka”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We did many different things in NZ but this is our favorite. When I was booking, Sue was really experienced and insisted that we do this on 23 Dec instead of 24 Dec as per our original plans as it'll rain on 24 Dec. I m so glad we listened to her advice. W loved this 4 hour activity. The jet boating was fun but what I really loved is the walk. The scenery is amazing, as we walk past a waterfall, wide open spaces and a forest which looked so unreal. We didnt meet anyone throughout the 1 hour walk as where they bring us is not really accessible so it's very lovely. One tip I can leave here is "pls ensure that you have visited the toilet for the last time when the van picks u up from town".

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeNosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

took a river journey to Glendhu bay (left from the departure point near the i-Site of Lake Wanaka), with an instructor who was amazing. you could see he loves his job, and was absolutely great at it. did some jet boating around the lake and a short bush walk, accopmanied with some nice stories and explanations. suitable for adults and children, highly recommended :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hadar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A highlight!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A definite must do if in the area. We had a brilliant jet boat trip with Brent. Fun, exhilarating and informative. Beautiful scenery, felt very safe with views and could not have wished for a better trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent jet boat ride and hike through the wilderness. Our driver / guide was excellent and directed the trip perfectly. Cannot recommend this more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wanaka River Journeys also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wanaka River Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing