We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our perfect day”

Ridgeline Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$124.80*
and up
Wanaka Highlights Safari
More Info
US$177.57*
and up
Best of Wanaka Small-Group Photo Safari
More Info
US$177.57*
and up
Wild Hills 4WD Safari
Ranked #9 of 59 Tours in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come experience New Zealand's ultimate alpine mountain farm 4WD adventure. The perfect mix of Wanaka's breath-taking scenery, history, heritage and farming life. This will be a genuine highlight of your New Zealand holiday. Check us out on Instagram: ridgelinenz Facebook:ridgelineadventuresnz
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I recently booked the Romance In The Mountains tour for an engagement proposal to my girlfriend. Mark was the perfect guide, discreetly keeping my secret while taking us to a gorgeous backdrop and organizing everything behind the scenes. Everything went to plan and we will always remember this incredible day. I highly recommend it!!

1  Thank Travelsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adventurewanaka, Owner at Ridgeline Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Guys
It was a pleasure to help out with your big day!! Hope you liked the photos I sent you??
Come back for your anniversary sometime. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 112 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We also agree with other reviews - an excellent tour. We were blessed with great weather and the views were breathtaking, especially with the late afternoon sun on the lake and mountains. Great to see the deer running around too. Our guide Mark, who takes many folks on this tour many times, was so clearly passionate and very knowledgable about the area and loves the views, the silence/isolation and the history. Thanks Mark and we hope the surveying tips helped.

2  Thank ourturn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adventurewanaka, Owner at Ridgeline Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for your comments. It was great to get your thoughts on the layout of the historic buildings form a surveyors point of view. It all helps piece together the story of this fascinating place. thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Mark took us on a trek that we will not soon forget. Tucked away on vast private farm land the views from this property and of the deer and sheep are iconic. It was also wonderful to be guided by someone as knowledgeable and passionate about Wanaka as Mark. We will be back to do the summer trek next time we're in Wanaka.

1  Thank lovetotravelColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adventurewanaka, Owner at Ridgeline Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Yes you must come back in summer so we can take you high up to our "alpine cafe"!! Great to meet you and thanks again for your support. It's very hard not to be touched by the magic of Wanaka!! Regards Mark Orbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We booked this at short notice and had the excursion to ourselves - an awesome journey up to the top of the Huge rock and accompanied by excellent commentary and a lovely picnic tea. Friendly and informative - not to be missed.

2  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adventurewanaka, Owner at Ridgeline Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

I guess with all reviews raving about our trip you could be forgiven for thinking that it can't be that good, could it? We are rapt that you think it IS that good!! thank you so much, we really do appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The other reviews are all true and accurate. The authentic New Zealand back country is stunning and highly recommended. However, what we were looking for was more than awe-inspiring vistas – we wanted to get safely lost in the rugged, poetic isolation that very few places in this World can deliver. When we finally reached the fantastic Mr Mark's mythical Alpine Cafe (Gumboot tea and coffee on the hood of a charming Land Rover), we were the only humans for miles in every direction. I won't steal anymore of Mark's thunder – this was a journey we will never forget, to a rock that will forever be in our hearts. Cheers mate.

1  Thank kiwiboyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adventurewanaka, Owner at Ridgeline Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

It is a special place that rock!! Overlooking picturesque Lake Wanaka a perfect place to ask someone to marry you!!!! Well done. Come back sometime and we'll shout you a bottle of champagne on the rock! Regards Mark Orbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ridgeline Adventures also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Ridgeline Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing