We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverview Terrace Wanaka”
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #4 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

spectacular acomodations!!!! The Spa evenning experince it's a special moment. The breakfast is delicious and the hospitallaty is amazing. We strongly recommend the RiverView Terrace if you planning to visit Wanaka, one of New Zeland's beatiful landscapes

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filipaa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Riverview Terrace. Our 8 seater spa under the stars at night,in its garden setting on the terrace is very popular with our many honeymoon guests. Peter and I really enjoy hosting and spoiling our many honeymooners as well as the Rugby followers. We have all had lots of fun over the last 2 months, many thanks, Pam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Riverview Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Pam and Peter welcome you to their amazing accommodation with all the genuine rapport of a family member. Their beautiful home has modern finishes and all the mod cons you would expect from a high end stay. If you want all the finer touches then this is your place. Coming from the UK, I was genuinely surprised at the level of service and accommodation that Riverview Terrace has to offer. The hosts' knowledge of local activities and places to visit was second to none and their desire to make sure all your needs were met was fantastic, including a lift to and from restaurants for dinner if that's what you wished for! We found that we could have as much or as little privacy as we desired which was really important to making our stay just perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for choosing Riverview Terrace for your stay in Wanaka & for taking the time to write your super review. We really enjoyed hosted you & helping to plan & maximize your time in Wanaka. i know how much you enjoyed walking the Clutha River track, We really look forward to your next trip to New Zealand & introducing you to more Wanaka Wine. What fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have never wanted to reccommend a place so highly to everyone we know. We stayed five days and Pam and Peter's B&B and had the most wonderful experience. They have thought of everything and their attention to detail is second to none. We cannot fault the place! The rooms are beautiful, with great sized ensuites and comfortable beds. We were served a superb breakfast each morning complete with freshly baked muffins, hot food and fresh fruit. Every evening we enjoyed trying different local wines with a little pre dinner snack whipped up by Pam, then Peter would drive us to and from dinner in town (after having made the reservation for us). Upon returning we were offered tea and coffee and usually a little homemade sweet treat - Pam is an incredible chef! Being winter they also very kindly popped our electric blanket on each night whilst we were at dinner. We appreciated their advice about local activities,their stories of farming the land in the past, their personal touch and care, and genuine interest in helping us get the most from our holiday. Nothing is too much trouble. The whole place is more spectacular in real life than in the photos and we enjoyed sitting out under the stars after a long day skiing sipping wine in the spa! I could go on all day about how brilliant and luxurious this place was and can't wait till we can visit again. If you are looking for a special B&B with a personal touch and lovely local hosts, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Peter and i had a wonderful time hosting you both, I do like cooking special treats for you, I hope you received my special recipes I emailed. We are even now! Australia won the last rugby game- but bring on the World Cup ! We look forward to your return visit & thank you so much for taking time to write your review of Riverview Terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We loved this bed and breakfast. Beautiful views and even more beatiful hosts. We were treated like family the moment we walked in the door with welcoming appetizers and local wine. Pam even helped with my laundry as my luggage never arrived in NZ and she took us into town so we wouldn't have to worry about enjoying fine new zealand wines and then driving home. We had enough privacy to enjoy our honeymoon but enough pampering to keep us more than comfortable. We LOVED our over the top breakfast, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, waffles and the coffee was better than a coffee shop. I wish we had more nights here and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandR10210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

On our round the world trip, this was a piece of heaven. Within hours of our arrival, Pam had provided a snack (more like a meal!) some wine, discussed our plans and booked trips for our 2 day stay. We were brought wine as we relaxed under a full moon in the spa in the garden.
A MUST is the Funny French Car wine tour. BRILLIANT

Room Tip: One with access to terrace + garden
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodgaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

With such a friendly welcome, I knew it was going to be lovely but we got so much more. Pam & Peter were so thoughtful after 3 nights we felt so at home it was so hard to leave. We truely can't wait to go back. The views were stunning the attention to detail exceptional and their recommendations (which they ensured they had tried & tested personally) were perfect, whether it was for meals, entertainment or excercise & scenery.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed with Pam & Peter for 3 nights early Feb and what a stay it was.
From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice - the hosts are wonderful, the welcome lovely and the views from the rooms simply out of this world.
Pam was aware it was my birthday the day after our arrival, so I woke to home made muffins and a little "happy birthday" decoration. We had arranged to go on a trike tour with a local company and Pam had informed them that it was my B'day, so the trike arrived decorated in Happy Birthday messages - A nice touch by all involved.
Pam makes a great breakfast and is happy to prepare breakfast for when you are ready rather than dictating times to her guests. Each night Peter would drop us off into town at our chosen restaurant and pick us up once we had finished. Make sure you take them up on the offer of using the spa - it's brilliant. My wife and I were genuinely gutted when it was time to move on and have vowed that when we return to NZ we will be making a return visit to Riverview Terrace. As per my title - you arrive at this B&B as strangers but leave as friends. A truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIlentdark1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
792 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 53 in Wanaka
119 reviews
15.3 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £114 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing