We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B and experience”
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #3 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B and experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

There are certain places where ratings don’t do proper justice. This is one. From the time we arrived I knew this place and their hosts were special. We came too late to go out for dinner and Pam and Peter were kind enough to throw something together for us. And it was very good! The breakfasts were great and so filling we didn’t even eat lunch each day. My wife was pregnant and limited somewhat in what she could eat and Pam was happy to accommodate her. I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention how great the coffee was as well.

Throughout our stay, Pam and Peter helped guide us and always pointed us in the right direction. Peter even drove us to restaurants so we didn’t have to worry about driving home. It was great just talking with them over wine at night. When we sadly had to go, they knew we had a bit of a drive for a hike and they surprised us by giving us some baked goods for the road.

Lest you think our enjoyment of our stay centered all around food, the accommodations themselves were awesome. Very nice room and shower. There was a deck outside the room with beautiful views. There was a sauna outside from which you could see the stars at night. And the rest of the house is so inviting and comfortable.

Thanks for help making our trip to New Zealand so fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
196
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Riverview Terrace is one of the loveliest places (if not the loveliest) that we have ever stayed throughout our travels around the globe.

My husband and I decided to elope in Wanaka and believed that Riverview Terrace would be the perfect place to be married, and we were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived, we were taken care of (delicious canapes and beverages of our choosing), and the hospitality and feeling that you are at a loving home away from home did not end when we left! Pam and Peter provided us with so much, it is hard to describe how grateful we are to have had them be a part of our wedding day.

We were greeted with maps and information on Wanaka as well as chocolates and fresh flowers in our room when we arrived. The rooms are amazing, impeccably clean, and the heated floors in the ensuites are a blessing in winter. The view from our room was very impressive, and waking up and seeing mountains surround you isn't the worst thing in the world :).

Thank you Pam and Peter for making us feel special and taking care of us on our wedding day.

We hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleSimon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We were very nervous hosting a wedding in June because of the weather !!! But thank goodness you were able to fly in your first helicopter flight to Coromandel Peak & have a photo shoot in the snow. Peter & I really enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Look no further: this is where to stay if you're visiting (or getting married) in Wanaka. 

My husband and I, along with two friends, stayed at Riverview Terrace when we recently eloped.

From our very first email exchange, Pam and Peter were incredibly hospitable. As described by many reviewers before me, they really went above and beyond to make our stay with them enjoyable and memorable. 

We had all 3 rooms, which are each as lovely and cozy as they look in the photos. The views, the hot tub and the food were all fantastic. 

But its really all of Pam and Peter's little touches that made us feel special - I'm hesitant to list them here because you should just go and experience them yourself. But I will mention two (of the many) things that made our stay so memorable: 

1. Pam welcomed us into her home like we were her own personal guests. She served dinner on her family china with napkin rings that were carved by her grandfather. Staying in her house was like staying with  a favourite aunt I wish I had. She even emailed me her yummy recipes after our stay. 

2. While Peter chauffered us around for our heli-wedding, he made a video of our helicopter take off and landing. Our parents, who couldn't be there for the wedding, have shown the video to everyone they know. 

These two have truly found their calling in running a bed and breakfast. If we could change one thing,  it would have been to stay longer. 

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We will never forget your amazing elopement Wedding! What a combination The Groom from Ireland & the beautiful Bride from Boston. We all had so much fun, Peter & I loved hosting you all and look forward to you coming back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We first discovered Riverview Terrace in 2008, returned with a crowd in 2010 and when my wife and I needed a special break we descended on Pam and Peter for four nights in Jun2014.

Nothing changes at Riverview Terrace: the hospitality is fabulous, the food is fabulous, the views are fabulous. This place is consistently fabulous and great value for money to boot!

Room Tip: Suites 1 & 2 have the great views but suite 3 has the spa bath (and not such a good view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trooper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
It is such a huge honour to get our guests returning, thank you so much for choosing to stay at Riverview Terrace for the 3rd time. Peter & I really enjoyed spending time with you both, and pleased you were able to relax and enjoy your break in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed with Pam and Peter for 3 days. Rooms are lovely and the house is large, modern and very clean. The best part about staying, though, were the service and extras that offered. Pam's early evening canapes are like a fine dining restaurant entree - to the extent that we over-ate every single night. Peter offered lifts into and out of town, and it genuinely felt like they couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We stayed at 8 B&Bs in our trip across NZ, all rated excellent on this website, and Riverview was the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this excellent review for us. Peter & I really enjoyed meeting you both, and giving you a very special time in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had the most amazing time staying with Pam and Peter. They really know how to make you feel welcome and like family. We left relaxed and pampered. Sadly we had to leave...We will make sure to stop at their B&B again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks Eva for your kind words and taking the time to write us a review.
Peter & I really enjoyed having you both to stay, especially great because it was Mothers Day and you are both our daughters age so it made us feel we had them home with young ones in the house! Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Pam and Peter are such an amazing couple, they are a great team. I love Pam's cooking, her canapes is the best! Peter is also such a nice person. We had a perfect wedding because of them, they treat us like family. You can never go wrong when you stay here. Totally the best place to stay in Wanaka. I will always treasure our stay at Riverview Terrace.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Riverview Terrace for your Wedding Accommodation, we were delighted to meet you both and share in your very special day and wish you the very best for your long & happy future together. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a kind review so quickly.
We look forward to seeing you both again at Riverview Terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Property: Riverview Terrace
Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing