We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my holiday”
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #3 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highlight of my holiday”
Reviewed 24 November 2010

From the moment we arrived we were pampered and spoilt. Pam and Peter were the perfect hosts and looked after us so well from the pre-dinner drinks, hearty breakfasts (recipes provided!), local wines and spa. Peter even chauffeured us into town so we could have a drink or two with dinner! Our hosts went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay and provided us with heaps of information on the local area. We borrowed their bikes and had a wonderful trip into Wanaka along the side of the river track. This place is a must! Genuine New Zealand hospitality. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMS051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
196
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We made a last minute arrangement to stay at Riverview Terrace, as we were traveling around the South Island. As soon as we arrived in the late afternoon, Pam and Peter sat us down, brought us coffee drinks and a light snack, and asked us how they could help us arrange our afternoon. They made reservations for us to visit a nearby vineyard and then go horseback riding, both which were wonderful experiences. As we were out touring the countryside, they even made us dinner reservations. After we returned from our ride and showered, they laid out delicious hors d'oeuvres and wine. Coming from Northern California, we are picky wine drinkers, and we loved the Maude pinot they provided, as well as the fresh water salmon and other appetizers! Afterward, they were so kind as to drive us to and from dinner, and stop at the local wine store so we could pick up a bottle of the pinot we had enjoyed earlier!!

Everything about our night at Riverview Terrace was perfect-- from the comfortable, well decorated rooms, to the modern bathroom, and the extravagant breakfast. We have stayed at many B&Bs throughout the U.S. (and now New Zealand/Australia), and this was truly one of our favorites.

Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luci3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Without doubt, the best place we have stayed! Pam and Peter are wonderful hosts and they made us feel like part of the family. We had delicious nibbles and drinks on the lawn and marvelled at the amazing views. The breakfasts were great - heart shaped waffles were a highlight but there was plenty else on offer also. Our bedroom and ensuite were luxurious and a spa under the stars was the perfect way to finish the evening.
We had planned to do lots of activities around the Wanaka area but in the end we found it hard to leave the comfort of Riverview Terrace and instead enjoyed a truly relaxing holiday.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boniden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Pam & Peter we were made to feel right at home. The rooms are beautifully presented, the breakfast fantastic, and their knowledge of the local attractions was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 30 October 2010
It was such a pleasure for Peter and I to host you and your family, we really enjoyed helping to plan your time to maximise your wanaka experiences, Labour Weekend with Wanakafest had so many activities to be involved in.Thank you for chosing Riverview Terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

While in NZ i came down with the flu so my partner and i wanted to stop somewhere where i could sleep, rest and recuperate. Riverview Terrace was the perfect place to do this, Pam and Peter looked after me like i was a part of their family. The breakfasts were hearty and amazing. We are both wheat and dairy free and Pam catered for us perfectly cooking wheat free muffins fresh for us each morning. There were no time limits or expectations other than to rest, relax and enjoy. We booked for two nights and ended up staying for three.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This gen y term to describe our time at riverview terrace with pam and peter, sums our time perfectly: hospitality, advice, friendship, food, beds, room, views, hot tub, service, breakfasts, pre dinner drinks and snacks, standard of care. not to be missed if travelling to wanaka or the region.All good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganstoyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

River View was the perfect place to undwide. A luxurious B&B set amoungst a beautiful backdrop. River View was the highlight of our trip to New Zealand. Pam knew exactly what kind of stay were looking for and did everything she could to ensure that is what we received. Pam's local knowledge and uncanny knack of knowing what to suggest for people to do during their stay was invaluble. Pam suggested we did the River Cruise in Queenstown on the TS Earnslaw and it was exactly what we were looking for. With all of the help we received at travel agencies, Pam gave us the best suggestions and we didn't have to go anywhere!

The room and bed was incredible, total luxury, with the service and view at River View I would never stay anywhere else in Wanaka.

I can't wait to go back!

L Brown and R Lea

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Honey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Property: Riverview Terrace
Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing