We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best homestead in Wanaka!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“Best homestead in Wanaka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

A very comfortable three night stay at Waiorau homestead, in fact of the best among all the B&B that I have stayed so far! The house was tastefully decorated, from the cozy living area to the dedicated dinning area to the clean, warm rooms and not to mention the huge garden with the Mountain View. Ann, Blyth and the dogs (Bebe and Bazil) are such great hosts, providing us travel tips around Wanaka and even offered to cook us dinner of their local specialty. The home cooking was delicious and probably one of our fullest meal during the whole trip. Not to mention the daily breakfast was always a treat!

The homestead is just 25 minutes drive from both the Cardona Ski Resort and Snow Farm which we went for our ski lessons and snow bike adventure at the respective places. It is also 5 minutes drive from the historical Cardona Hotel where $50 dinner vouchers were offered per couple for our stay with Waiorau homestead. The food and ambience at Cardona Hotel was great too!

Thank you Ann and Blyth for being such magnificent hosts and we will definitely revisit gain for a longer stay the next time round!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
213
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

After spending a couple of nights in Waiorau Homestead my husband and I would have been happy to spend the rest of our NZ holiday here. We were the only couple staying at the time and it truly felt like we were at home. Whether it was the amazing breakfasts cooked by Blyth and Ann, sipping coffee by the open fire place or relaxing in the outdoor hot tub after a day of skiing this was a stay we will never forget.

Blyth and Ann have an eye for detail and this was reflected both in their home and service. Our every need was tended to without having to ask and their home was beautifully decorated. They were so helpful in assisting us plan our days and their local knowledge was definitely a great help.

The location was a short drive out of Wanaka, which was great to stay in the peace and beautiful surroundings of Cardrona. If you are into skiing the homestead is situated 2mins away from the base of the Cardrona ski fields.

We would also recommend the 3 course dinner cooked by Blyth. Ann and Blyth ensured it was very romantic and most importantly, delicious. We had the salmon with salsa verde and one of the best meals we have had in a long time.

Thank you for showing us what true hospitality is all about and welcoming us with open arms into your amazing home.

We hope to see you again.

Kristen & Steve

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The homestead was lovely…. The views and the rooms. The hosts Ann and Blythe were wonderful. This was one of our favorite stops during our 3 weeks in New Zealand. It’s a great value… the breakfast had many excellent selections and the wine and cheese board which was offered to us each afternoon was an extra special touch. We stayed in the ‘blue’ room, which was perfect for us. It had great views and doors opening to the patio. Blythe will prepare a meal for you at the homestead. While we didn’t take advantage of this, we wished that we had.

Room Tip: The largest room which can accomodate three people has the bathroom located across the hall. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

"Waiorau Homestead is such a beautiful and peaceful house set in a glorious garden…we loved every minute of our stay. Thanks Blyth for your delicious delicious breakfasts and dinners and a special thanks for sharing the big cray you caught in Doubtful Sound…a real treat….and then there were all those wonderful Kiwi wines…..
Your hospitality, local stories and comic tales made us feel very welcome…from the moment we were greeted by Ann at your front door. We’ve told all our traveller friends about your lovely homestead and we will certainly be back to stay"

Room Tip: Any room at Waiorau is a great thing but the front queen size room has beautiful views to the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiewords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Ann welcomed us to our home for 3 days. Yes home, it felt like you were at home not renting a room. The homestead is on the other side of the crown range so you'll have to drive through the winding roads. It is an adventure by itself.

If you love dogs, even better, there are two friendly Beagles (Basil and Bebe) who will come to you for petting and playing and it was great to be around them.

Ann has decorated/renovated the place really tastefully. There is real character to the house. The warm fireplace in the hall, the black and white dining area and the cozy bedroom. We stayed in the Blue room (Kahurangi room). It had a great view. The sliding door opened up to the ground. The homestead is close to a sheep farm. We went over to the farm to see the sheep, it was a whole morning of fun.

Ann cooked a nice meal on one of the nights. She helped me light the outdoor fire in the evening where we sat and enjoyed delish cheese and wine. I also liked Ann's selection of toiletries, really local things i forgot the name of the soaps but would've loved to pick them up on the way out of NZ. Next time perhaps.

Ann knows Wanaka inside out and is a great guide, she helped us plan our days while we stayed with her and helped book our horse riding trip. She recommended the winery Mount Difficulty, it was a beautiful winery, great wine and excellent food there.

All in all an awesome experience. Thank you Ann. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the one we stayed in was the blue room (Kahurangi room), which we loved. It has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmritaKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a lovely stay last January in this amazing location. Great drive up from Queenstown and very peaceful. Lovely dogs and a very nice patio and living room. Looking at the photos here makes me want to go back. We had the rooms decorated in blues and browns and it was very calming. Great breakfast and the best eggs benedict I've ever had!! Great hot tub in the garden as well, best for a cool night under the stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed with friends at Waiorau Lodge last weekend. This is our third visit as it is truly a magical place with magnificent scenery so we keep going back.The Lodge is beautifully decorated, and so welcoming with the open fire and as always the food was wonderful. Thank you Ann and Blyth for being such magnificent hosts.We will be back.

Ali and Steve

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali and Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
13.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
15.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#5 of 58 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Property: Waiorau Homestead
Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing