We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Impossible to fault. Ann and Blyth are fabulous hosts. The homestead has beautiful grounds with mountain vistas all around. Inside the decor is very tasteful and executed so well. Basil and Beebee (the beagles) are very happy to meet you too. Blyth is an excellent chef so do eat in, you won't be disappointed. A warm and welcoming atmosphere. We have no hesitation in recommending Waiorau Homestead and will stay again when we return to Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Hi Mark & Heather - and fellow beagle owners!
Thank you for coming to Waiorau Homestead, you were lovely guests to have and great company. We also very much enjoyed sharing beagle stories with you. We hope the rest of your trip went well and please come and stay again. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
222
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had 3 nights with Ann and Blyth last week and i can say it was the highlight of our trip for my husbands 60th. my only wish was we stayed longer. I found this beautiful place online and planned the trip around the time here with it in the middle of our campervan experience giving us some much needed pampering in a warm inviting home.they made us feel part of the family from day one. the room and everything about the home spelt pure bliss to us. Now to work off those wonderful breakfasts! Yum, i could get used to that every day. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we felt very spoilt by them both. I even got some hints for night photography. i would have loved the hot tub but couldn't budge my hubby as he wasn't well. next time i guess. we loved the dear beagles too and the quiet restful place was perfect for us to really get some rest time. the beds were bliss and such lovely bathrooms with the whole place so beautifully decorated and very clean.I loved the peace and quiet and the pretty location kept me madly taking photos. we also loved our dinner at the old Cardrona hotel, so yummy i can't wait to go back. we will be back to stay as soon as we can as we loved every minute there. thanks so much for making our holiday so special. Chris and Austin Majoroff from Silverdale, NSW

Room Tip: i imagine all rooms would be quiet and restful like ours was. this is a hidden little paradise that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi Chris & Austin, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to catch up on what was a very busy holiday by the sounds of it! And great that Daniel was able to share some photography tips with you - although it looked, by the great photos you were taking, you didn't need too much help.
Thank you very much for your kind review and we do hope to see you here again sometime in the future.
Kind regards, Blyth & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Definitely the best B&B I've stayed at. Ann and Blyth are fantastic hosts and the homestead is beautiful. The views are magnificent and the whole atmosphere is very relaxing. We had an absolutely delicious dinner cooked by Blyth. The bed was very very comfortable with excellent quality linen. Overall, a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi Claire, thank you doing this review and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us - come again anytime. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Many thanks to Waiorau Homestead hosts Ann and Blyth for our stay in their luxurious and peaceful home. The lovely and welcoming schist-clad house is wonderfully decorated in modern style inside. Coupling this with the beautiful landscape and grounds makes the Homestead an oasis of tranquility and warmth. Of course that's not to mention the entertaining and informative company of Ann and Blyth which is there when you need it. And Blyth's cooking really is divine.

For a fantastic taste of South Island luxury and hospitality, Waiorau Homestead would be impossible to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi Anna , it was lovely to have you come and stay with us and enjoy our quiet and beautiful surroundings. We do note a lot of our guests go away rested and rejuvenated and we are pleased you were too. Thank you for the review.
Kind wishes, Ann &Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

As all the other reviewers say, this is really a fantastic B&B, extremely luxurious and nicer than any others i have found in NZ. First, the location: set in the Cardrona valley surrounded by mountains and countryside, with amazing views. The entrance is spectacular with a long drive down a tree lined driveway that opens up to the house and enormous gardens. The house and rooms themselves are very tastefully done, and very comfortable. (we asked for breakfast at 7.30 but turned up an hour later after a long deep sleep! Just not used to such silence anymore! And that was no worries with Ann and Blyth - they say it happens all the time!) And speaking of breakfast - WOW! Best B&B breakfast ever. Blyth told me afterwards tht he works as a chef. So that explained it. On the back of the breakfast we booked dinner for that evening (and the next) and they were just delicious. Very generous portions of lamb the first day and really delicious salmon the next. Not only is the dinner worth it, but once you drive in the gates you won't want to leave! We swam in the pool and followed that up with a hot spa under the stars. Ann suggested we bring a wine with us and what a treat that was! Do take a spa if you come and feel like you are in the lap of luxury!
My last words are for Ann and Blyth who are excellent hosts. They know exactly how to run a B&B, chatting to us, but giving us space, heaps of tips and very tatsy pre dinner nibbles. A very memorable break for us in the midst of our NZ trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kahurangi - direct access to the terrace and our own little table and chairs to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WA_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi guests from WA - thank you so much for your fabulous review - we were delighted to have you stay and that you took the opportunity to enjoy our homestead and hospitality. Kind wishes Blyth& Ann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We returned here for a long weekend to celebrate our 10th anniversary, having been here for just 1 day last year on our South island tour. We had 3 nights here, in the Kahurangi room and it was just perfect, just what we wanted for the occasion. After active days running the nearby trails (there's heaps to do right from their front gate) and with the chilly evenings we jumped in the hot spa every night and the night sky was just amazing! The beauty of the location in the Cardrona valley is that you are totally surrounded by countryside, with no lights visible and total silence. We sat with our wine in the hot tub and just soaked it all up, feeling the stress of the city melt away. Pure bliss.
In fact apart from our runs, we didn't leave the place, having a beautiful dinner cooked by Blyth every evening and chatting over wines with Ann before dinner. They are such lovely hosts and made our anniversary feel so special.
Thanks so much guys, we will be back again, maybe for our 11th anniversary or my 'big' birthday next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitnessFanatic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear guests , thank you for coming and staying with us again this year - it is always a great compliment to have guests return and so we do hope you will be with us again for the 'big birthday' next year. Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. Kindest regards, Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I am delinquent on my review since I stayed here in late nov.... But this stay was one of the main highlights of my two week holiday in new Zealand and Australia. I've stayed at many varying b and bs to luxury resorts and Waiorau blows them out of the water. I only wish we could've made use of the pool...hot tub or fireplace. But I was too happily full and tipsy from dining at cadrona hotel :) I would recommend staying here more than a day.

If I had known about the helicopters being able to land in their back yard and ability to host weddings. I Would've had my wedding here!

Ann was busy heading to work but we did get to chat with Blythe. They are an amazing couple and the perfect hosts. Love Waiorau homestead!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbug95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Guests - thank you so much for your great review - it is much appreciated and we hope one day you will retun to see us again in this beautiful part of the world, Kindest regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
13.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
15.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Property: Waiorau Homestead
Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing