We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Staying with and meeting Blyth & Ann was our favorite part of visiting New Zealand. Lovely people, great conversations and an amazing home! We often cut the day short to join them in sipping wine by the fire.

That said, their home was the perfect spot for a winter adventure. They’re located at the base of Cardrona (which has a lot of untracked dry power after good storm.)  The local restaurants have great food. If you want to venture slightly further, Wanaka is only 20 minutes away and Queenstown is only 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

One of the most comfortable, welcoming B&Bs I have stayed in in New Zealand. Right from the get-go, Ann and Blyth made us welcome. From the roaring fire that waited to greet us through to the serving of drinks and chatting about the area, both played perfect hosts. The accommodations are great - 3 private rooms, each with their own bathroom (two ensuite), and you basically have part of the house to yourself - separate entry, the bedrooms, the dining room and the very spacious living room. Our first night's dinner was at the Cardrona Pub (Ann came along) which is just up the road, but the second night we had Blyth cooking a 4 course meal for us (he's a chef too!) and it was just fab. Needless to say, the cooked breakfasts were also right on target each morning - a selection of cereals, preserves, croissants, toast and eggs etc. for those who wanted it. The grounds of Waiorau Homestead are also extensive and great for an amble, and surrounded by mountains. The snow had just started hitting the tops of the mountains while we were there. Yes, it's outside of Wanaka Township - a 15-20 minute drive into town - but that didn't bother any of us. In fact, it was nice to be a little out of the way and feeling the tranquility of the countryside - and the entry to the ski fields is pretty much across the road for those who ski, or for those like me who just love snow. Definitely looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MsSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We made a last minute decision to spend a long weekend in Cardrona and we are so pleased we selected this B&B to stay. Ann and Blythe do a fantastic job and are great hosts. The house is cosy and warm with a great fire place in the guest lounge. Our room was conformable and spotless. The breakfasts are fantastic and plentiful (we did not need to buy lunch!). The hot pool was great to soak in during the chilly evening.

Bebe and Basil the beagles are a little naughty (keen to sneak into the guest lounge to enjoy the fire!) but really cute dogs.

Loved our stay and thanks to our hosts!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lizchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Liz & Paul - and we were very pleased you decided on a last minute stay with us as well. It was lovely to get to know you both and interesting we had common associations! I hope your next break went just as well and we look forward to seeing you down here again some other time. Thank you very much for taking the time to do the review for us - very kind. Best regards, Ann & Blyth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I traveled to Cardrona (about 20min) from Wanaka for one night and wish we could've stayed for longer. Ann and Blyth were very hospitable and welcoming and even offered us a different room upon arriving...as the one we had booked had a bathroom across the hall from the bedroom...very sweet of her! We loved our room and the entire home is just absolutely beautiful!! So well decorated, very cozy, a warm fireplace waiting for us, and breakfast was offered at whatever time suited us...again, very kind of our lovely hosts!! You definitely want to have a rental car if you wish to travel to Wanaka or to nearby towns, but te drive out of town is worth it to stay here!!! Ann and Blyth thank you so very much ...we hope we can visit again or at least send our friends to you for a visit!!

Room Tip: Get the room with the en suite restroom that had a view of the mountains and opens to a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shikha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Chicago guests - thank you so much for your lovely review and yes we wished you had stayed longer as well but pleased you enjoyed your short time with us. We very much look forward to seeing you and friends here at some other time in the future and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip down south. Maybe we will see you in Chicago sometime! All the best, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Gorgeous B&B 20 min drive outside of Wanaka. The host Ann was very hospitable making sure we had everything we needed during our stay.

The room and ensuite were fantastic and the setting is picturesque. Breakfast in the morning was generous and delicious. There is also a cosy communal living area to relax in complete with log fire, TV & DVD's to choose from as well as board games. We were the only guests in the B&B for our 2 nights and were able to enjoy the living space all to ourselves, Ann popped her head in occasionally to make sure we had everything we need and after we finished our bottle of wine generously topped us up with her own bottle. It's these small touches that make Waiorau better than any 5 star hotel I have stayed in.

Cardrona Pub (NZ's oldest pub) is just 2 minutes drive down the road and worth popping into for a pint or a meal (the bangers and mash were great!).

All in all I can't fault this place and would absolutely recommend Waiorau to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Jessica, thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind review for us - it is very much appreciated. You were lovely guests to host and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Until next time, all the best, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ann and Blythe are wonderful hosts who make sure you are comfortable and well fed, A beautiful house, lovely grounds. It took us only 20 min to go to Wanaka which we enjoyed, also. We also met lovely people with similar tastes that could share experiences in their gracious living room. Would recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Leigh, it was great to have you stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us - it is very much appreciated and we look forward to having you and your friends stay here with us some time in the future. Kind regards, Ann and Blyth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The photos and other reviews don't do the Waiorau Homestead justice. If you're looking for a place to unwind, in a gorgeous setting, this is the place to stay. Ann & Blythe are truly professional hosts with a beautiful and welcoming home. The dinner that Blythe cooked for us was the best meal we had on the trip -- and well-rivaled NYC's best restaurants. We wished we could have stayed on forever.

The one thing to be aware of is that it's situated outside Wanaka (about 15-min drive) if you're looking for walkability to amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Kerry, Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review for us - we are very appreciative. Also so glad you enjoyed your dinner prepared by Blyth - he is very impressed to be compared to NYC restaurants! Hope to see you down here some time again in the future. In the meantime, all the very best, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
12.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
847 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
374 reviews
14.8 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#6 of 53 in Wanaka
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | Rd1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £138 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing