We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a peaceful haven”
Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hayloft
Ranked #29 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“a peaceful haven”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

we stayed here for 6 nights over the christmas and new year period. wanaka was very busy with the hustle and bustle of tourists so the fact that the hayloft was just out of town was a big bonus. the views from this place are amazing and the self contained loft apartment has everything you need for a comfortable stay. we saved money on eating out and used the kitchenette for breakfast and making lunch when we were around, then splurged on eating out or getting takeaway in the evening.

julie and john are lovely people who made us feel very welcome and gave us some good tips for activities/eating out etc. the property was well insulated so it was nice and cool during the day but warm at night. this was our favourite place to stay during our two week trip around the south island. i would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsaytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was by far the best place we stayed on our honeymoon on South Island. It far exceeded all our expectations. The biggest problem we had with the Hayloft is we did not stay long enough! If you stay here (and you should) stay for as long as you can to get the benifit of a super place. It has balconies front and rear and we sat with a takeaway(cheating!) and a bottle of fizz and watched the sun go down. It was such a relaxing and tranquil setting it ticked all our boxes and we would love to go back one day. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We spent 8 nights at the Hayloft and enjoyed every moment. Will definitely be back. The setting is wonderfully rural and tranquil and yet only a few minutes drive from Wanaka... the building itself is a delight and the owners welcoming and friendly. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cypherus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed in some nice places on our NZ trip but so many were based on the same perfect beige formula. Not the Hayloft, this place had real character and still had all the modern conveniences and little personal touches. Loved the thick, uneven colourful walls and the recycled timbers. Best of all was sitting on the balcony enjoying a glass of the local pinot we’d bought, admiring the stunning scenery and watching the sun go down, priceless!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcatbindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This was by far the best place we stayed during our trip to the South Island, with a well stocked kitchen, very comfortable bedroom and spacious lounge and bathroom areas. Not at all far from the centre of town but far enough away to have peace and quiet. Skylights provide natural light (and starlight!) and the whole place is extremely cosy. Fantastic views of the hills. John and Julie were very knowledgeable and helpful, providing good advice on places to visit and eat at on our way back to Queenstown

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Hi IanCaroline

Thanks so much for your feedback ! The stars here are pretty spectacular here aren't they? It was lovely to meet you both and we're glad to hear our tips for Queenstown were helpful. Hope to see you next time you are in NZ.
Kind regards Julie and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

excellent place - excellent , the room, shower, lounge and balcony were excellent, not to mention the view. On top of that - the owners are extremely nice and knowledgeable!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilzoizner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this review, 27 November 2010
Hi Gilzoizner
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hayloft... 2 things we think are really important for our guests are an excellent shower and a comfortable bed. Oh yes, and those great views help too! We had fun sharing our insiders tips on the area with you.
Best wishes, Julie & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We spent a couple of weeks touring the South Island in a camper van and decided to have a wee splurge for a couple of nights when we got to Wanaka. The Hayloft was a real treat and lived up to its glowing reviews. John and Julie gave us some great tips for our trip and spent a fair bit of time researching options for tours for us... nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for going above and beyond our expectations. We’ll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjbinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Hi rjbinoz

Thanks for your post and photos - we love our ever changing view from the balcony too. Funnily enough we have a few guests taking a wee break from their campervan but also a few taking a break from more 'upmarket' accommodation. Hopefully we are a happy medium, an affordable splurge! Glad we could be of assistance with your tour arrangements. Being a tour guide I know how important it is to choose the right tour! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Bests wishes, John and Julie
PS Just for clarity for anyone browsing, rjbinoz's first beautiful pic of Wanaka is from a mountain ridge and not from the Hayloft!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Property: The Hayloft
Address: 272 Ballantyne Road | RD2, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly invite you to stay at our unique, strawbale loft apartment set on 16 acres of rolling farmland and enjoying fantastic views of the Southern Alps. The perfect retreat for a couple, the Hayloft is a spacious, fully self contained part of our home with its own private access and will be exclusively yours for the duration of your stay. Although self catering, breakfast provisions can be provided for your convenience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing