We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and beautiful apartment”
Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hayloft
Ranked #28 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We planned to stay two nights; we stayed four.
A perfect retreat for a small family in a self contained apartment with stunning views just minutes (by car) from central Wanaka. John and Julie were both very welcoming, provided some excellent advice on where to spend our days walking and could not have been more helpful.
Highly recommended and probably our no.1 pick out of all the lovely places in which we stayed in NZ.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Admiral_Rodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for such a glowing review! It was a pleasure having you and your gorgeous wee girl stay and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your walks :) Hope your trip home went well. Many thanks again for choosing the Hayloft and taking the time to post a review. Kind regards Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had a wonderful short stay at the Hayloft in February this year. The apartment is really well furnished, with individual touches which make all the difference. John and Julie were fantastic, knowledgeable hosts, who went out of their way to make our stay hugely enjoyable. And the 2 balconies meant that we could have both breakfast and evening meals outside enjoying the sun and lovely views. Wanaka was one of our favourite places during our tour through both NZ islands, and the Hayloft was definitely one of our favourite places to stay! Thoroughly recommended on all counts!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We like our holidays quiet, peaceful and low-key with plenty of skiing; The Hayloft in Wanaka was perfect. John and Julie intuitively balance a sense of privacy and space with being social. They came across as being very welcoming and generous and willing to do virtually anything to make your stay a pleasant one. John is very knowledgeable of the region and will not only offer recommendations for eateries and places to visit but specific things to look out for and sample in the establishments themselves.

The property itself is set in a tranquil location with an aspect which allows you to enjoy the sunrise and sunset along with uninterrupted views of the countryside. The living, bath, shower and bed room are very spacious, we felt comfortable immediately and were somewhat surprised when the final night of our week-long stay snuck up on us.

It was a novelty staying in a house constructed of straw with vibrantly painted interior walls. It was very warm with the winter sun streaming into the living room all afternoon. The dinnerware was of a decent quality which is rarely the case in self catering accommodation, while the bed and linen made for a cosy and comfortable sleep.

We were therefore very sad when our stay drew to a close!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TST_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Hi TST_Girl... thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our knowledge of the area helpful! Isn't the insulation from our strawbale walls great... warm in winter and cool in the summer. Fingers crossed for another great ski season. Hope to see you again! Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed at The Hayloft for a 3-night break in September and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The apartment is clean, cosy, very comfortable and well-equipped. The views from the balconies are just wonderful. The hosts are incredibly hospitable and friendly, but in no way intrusive. They gave us some great advice and suggestions about walks to do in the surrounding area. We will definitely stay again when we are back in Wanaka.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here in February, and enjoyed beautiful clear weather. The self-contained apartment at The Hayloft is spacious, incredibly comfortable, colorful, spotless and private. The view from its balcony toward the mountains is spectacular! Our host John made sure we had generous amounts of fresh food for breakfast, and was extremely helpful with information about all there is to see and do in Wanaka and Mt. Aspiring National Park. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to be a little bit out in the country in a lovely setting. Stay as long as you can possibly manage -- you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

we stayed here for 6 nights over the christmas and new year period. wanaka was very busy with the hustle and bustle of tourists so the fact that the hayloft was just out of town was a big bonus. the views from this place are amazing and the self contained loft apartment has everything you need for a comfortable stay. we saved money on eating out and used the kitchenette for breakfast and making lunch when we were around, then splurged on eating out or getting takeaway in the evening.

julie and john are lovely people who made us feel very welcome and gave us some good tips for activities/eating out etc. the property was well insulated so it was nice and cool during the day but warm at night. this was our favourite place to stay during our two week trip around the south island. i would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsaytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was by far the best place we stayed on our honeymoon on South Island. It far exceeded all our expectations. The biggest problem we had with the Hayloft is we did not stay long enough! If you stay here (and you should) stay for as long as you can to get the benifit of a super place. It has balconies front and rear and we sat with a takeaway(cheating!) and a bottle of fizz and watched the sun go down. It was such a relaxing and tranquil setting it ticked all our boxes and we would love to go back one day. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
811 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
2.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Address: 272 Ballantyne Road | Rd2, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £80 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly invite you to stay at our unique, strawbale loft apartment set on 16 acres of rolling farmland and enjoying fantastic views of the Southern Alps. The perfect retreat for a couple, the Hayloft is a spacious, fully self contained part of our home with its own private access and will be exclusively yours for the duration of your stay. Although self catering, breakfast provisions can be provided for your convenience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing