We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and peaceful; home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beacon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Lodge
Ranked #28 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romantic and peaceful; home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

It takes special people to be able to welcome strangers into their own home and make them feel like family and Rosie and Steve do this perfectly. Upon arriving, my partner and myself were warmly greeted by Rosie and shown to our beautiful room. The room is very spacious with a stunning bathroom (shower is amazing) and plenty of storage space. Outside, you have your own private balcony with stunning views of the lake as well as a Hot Tub. Throughout our 4 night stay, Rosie and Steve made us feel like we were staying with family, always warm and gracious hosts. On our last night, we were fortunate enough to have a bbq dinner with them as well as another travelling couple out on their deck. While Wanaka itself is just breath-taking, staying at Beacon Lodge made all the difference for us. We will forever have fond memories of our time here and a big part of that is in credit to Rosie and Steve for sharing their home with us. We are planning on coming back to Wanaka in winter and we will stay again at Beacon Lodge. Thank you Rosie and Steve, you have given us a holiday to truly remember. Jonathan and Rebecca.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaCook22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were lucky to have chosen Beacon Lodge for a three night stay in Wanaka. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Rosie and shown to our room which had fantastic views across the lake and to the mountains beyond. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Good shower and a separate dressing area. Also the room had crockery/cutlery which we used for a picknick on our terrace. Glass of wine with some cheese, olives, salad - perfect watching the sun go down.
The hosts, Steve and Rosie are easy going and very helpful. Breakfast was served by Rosie at our request. For one of our hikes, Steve contacted the DOC centre to check if the fords were not too deep for our little hire car. After a long day tramping (or hiking), we relaxed in the spa pool with a glass of wine, well what more can you wish for.
Upon departure they even let us hose down the car which was covered in dust! Lovely people, excellent facilities, beautiful views. Everything was just right.

Room Tip: The two rooms are both fine - just make sure you get to book one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScorpioLondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Rosie and Steve felt like old friends the moment we arrived. They have built a little piece of paradise and do a beautiful job of welcoming you to share their lovely spot. We were greeted with an invitation of a glass of wine and conversation on the deck and some great dinner recommendations. Steve said he'd have the hot tub open for us when we returned from dinner and it was fabulous. We had the place to ourselves and could walk from our room and private terrace directly to the hot tub. We retired to our warm, inviting, and very comofrtable bedroom to find homemade cookies waiting for us by the mini fridge and coffee setup.

Rosie offered to make whatever we wanted for breakfast at whatever time suited us. We were convinced that yogart and fruit would be plenty but when she mentioned blueberry pancakes Alex's smile convinced her that would be lovely. Wow, what a delicious breakfast with a fabulous view.

Their beautiful home is just a few mintues from the shops and restuarants of Wanaka and overlooks Lake Wanaka and the mountains. We didn't want to leave. I would recommend at least a couple of days here to really enjoy this fantastic spot. We loved it!

Suzanne & Alex

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We spent last Christmas and were very lucky having chosen the Beacon Lodge. Rosie and Steve are very friendly and open hosts. We had some very nice conversations with them but still had as much freedom as we wanted. They shared their beautiful home with us. It’s a new and very stylish house. Since there are only two guest rooms you don’t feel like being in a B&B or Hotel. Plus the rooms are decorated very nicely and with a personal note. Both have a nice bathroom as well.
If you book a room in the Beacon Lodge you get the full package. We were invited to use the Jacuzzie, played some tennis on the nice court behind the house (no, balls and rackets do not cost extra) and even used the BBQ with a beautiful view on the lake and the mountains (Rosie and Steve went out for dinner so we were by ourselves). We used the free WIFI all day long, which allowed us to skype home. And - not to forget – the home made breakfast was just jummy!
In a nutshell: We couldn’t have found a better place to fell at home!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik_Herrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Beacon Lodge is perfectly situatued about 2k from the centre of Wanaka over looking the lake and treble cone ski field. We arrived from Queenstown looking for a bit of chill out time and that is what we got. Nice and quiet, a roaring fire place that kept the house warm all day and night, a warm spa ovelooking the ski field. The breakfast was excellent and the hosts made us feel very welcome. We would recommend Beacon Lodge to any one travelling to Wanaka. Michael & Tsharna :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herston_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

We spent the most perfect 5 nights at Beacon Lodge. It is a gloriously beautiful house in a simply spectacular location. Our room was lovely and the bathroom and shower was the best we came across in our whole 3 week holiday. The outdoor spa pool was the perfect place to unwind after long walks in the beautiful Wanaka countryside. Rosie made us the tastiest breakfasts that you could imagine, that filled us up for most of the day. She and Steve made us feel so welcome that we felt like part of the family by the time we left!
When we next visit NZ, Beacon Lodge will be top of our list to revisit!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Stunning quality house and rooms with lovely, interesting hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#10 of 52 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#5 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Lodge

Property: Beacon Lodge
Address: 249 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up and being able to see the lake and mountains from your beautifully comfortable bed! Both guest rooms at Beacon Lodge offer this plus much more.... Luxurious en-suites, tea/coffee facilities, fridge, use of spa pool and tennis court. In winter enjoy open fires inside and outside and take advantage of Steve's extensive knowledge of local ski fields. Laundry facilities and drying room also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing