We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”

Cinema Paradiso Bar & Cafe
Ranked #12 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the layout of the cinema with the various array of couches, cars and cameras. The interval break was also a nice touch. Highly memorable cinema experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    56
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great evening”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A movie experience like never before. A small boutique cinema full of character. Sound and picture quality were great. Loved the different seating options. The warm cookies at intermission are a must.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Movie on holiday! Yay!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Love Cinema Paradiso! It's so cozy, full of characters and the cinema inside is none like the normal typical cinema you always go to. For one thing...the seats are all so different and unique from one another. No two seast are the same. There are couches, seats in the car, seats painted in different color etc..very cute!

Their homemade ice cream was also very yummy. I had the passionfruit flavour. Yumm!

I watched 300 Rise of an Empire. The movie itself was so so, but the cinema is a charm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poikime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pizza and a Movie. Perfect”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Such a cute wee venue. All unique seating inside, we sat in the old school car, surprisingly comfy. I loved that the movie broke for an interval, we enjoyed our pizza and warm cookie. Coffee could be better, but hey your not a cafe so I don't mind. See you again soon

Helpful?
Thank Foodlover438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wanaka gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place to go to a movie! Great service and personalities. A wonderful evening for a Dad and 2 boys. Loved the home biscuits and ice cream. We love the ice cream so much that we went back twice! The best cinema experience ever! A must do when you visit Wanaka

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinema Paradiso Bar & Cafe also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Cinema Paradiso Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing