We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and views, clean and tidy.”
Review of Bella Vista Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bella Vista Wanaka
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The motel is located behind the town center with views across the lake to the snow capped mountains in the distance.
This was a compact studio room which was small for a couple and their luggage, but ok for one night. However it was not as cramped as a similar room in Fox Glacier.
It was clean, neat, tidy and quiet.
the owner was very friendly and gave good traveling advice.
It was a predictable Belle Vista and we give it 8/10.
See my reviews on Bella Vista Fox Glacier and Te Anau.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rjpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

This motel is right in the centre of Wannaka and easy walking distance to shops ,bars and the lake.We asked for a king room and were given a room on the ground floor which could sleep 5 people. This unit comprised of a large room with king bed a settee and desk and a separate bedroom with bunk beds and a single bed. The bathroom was also large with a big bath with a shower over the bath.As there was a tree directly outside the window and the outside staircase near the door the room was a little dark. However it was clean and comfortable and we slept well here and stayed for two nights.

Room Tip: Upper floors are usually brighter but don't forget heaving the suitcases upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Wanaka is a delightful town and the motel is very centrally located.

I booked a compact studio, so did not expect a large room. It was exactly as expected except that the ensuite was a good size. It may have been a small room but it was very clean and had everything we needed for one night. No kitchenette as such, but a kettle, toaster, plates, bowls, cutlery etc and fridge. We had a view of the mountains and a tiny portion of the lake and most rooms catch the afternoon and evening sun.

When we arrived someone was sweeping the outside stairs, corridors and even the carpark which shows how serious the owners are about cleanliness.

We stayed in two Bella Vistas during our tour of New Zealand and they were the smallest rooms we stayed in.

There is a charge for wifi - as there was with the other BV we stayed in - whereas a lot of other motels will give you at least 30 minutes free.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alrumatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

During my trip to NZ, I stayed at Bella Vista and loved it. The place was really clean and in the best location, not even 100m from the centre of town. The hotel would be the best value for money that I have stayed in for a long time. The rooms were really clean and the beds were really comfy.
Michelle that works there was awesome, she helped me with everything I needed, day tours, restaurants to eat at, etc etc.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Wanaka that is looking for a clean, central, well priced place to stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank keiran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It’s well placed for the lake and restaurants, shops, etc. Rooms are acceptable, with views up to the hills. There is a small kitchen area so you can microwave, boil water and burn toast. If you want to stay in a motel for a reasonable price then this is fine. If you want space to sit outside and enjoy the views then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We recently stayed several nights at the Bella Vista motel in Wanaka and enjoyed our stay in this beautiful part of the South Island of New Zealand. Our unit was fairly compact but very modern with a nice outdoor bistro setting where we enjoyed a drink or two at the end of each day. The motel complex is centred in a great location basically across the road from shops, bars and a supermarket, and about one minute's stroll from the centre of town. You might find yourself being a little nickel-and-dimed paying for the laundry and wi-fi which can be free in other places, but on the whole the service is great and the price is right compared to other options in this popular and pretty little slice of the South Island.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs give you a nice view of the nearby mountain range, which is spectacular. This hotel d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

During our holiday in New Zealand, we stayed 3 and 4 January 2012 in this motel and we liked it very much. Good rooms, good service, flexible owner. The motel is in the middle of the centre of Wanaka. The owner gave us a good advice about the restaurant - we had a lovely lambshoulder. We can recommend this motel.

Anja and Lenny Roelofs
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Wanaka

Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: £81 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION – LOCATION – LOCATION. We are situated in a fantastic location in a quiet cul de sac in the centre of town, just 150 metres from the lake front. Stay in one of the 18 modern, affordable, comfortable fully serviced units and enjoy the beautiful views that Bella Vista Wanaka has to offer. Park your car, stroll everywhere and take in the unforgettable alpine scenery of Mt. Aspiring National Park and Lake Wanaka. Stop for a lunch by the lakefront or enjoy a wine and evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bella Vista Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing