We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Wanaka
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Oamaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Perfect location, so convenient, and happy hosts very helpful information for our trip too.We were made very welcome and stayed longer, the rooms were the cleanest we've stayed in and had excellent facilities and awsome shower and spa bath .

Room Tip: Superior spa studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Murray282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    111
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
198
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nonthaburi, thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I can say that this is the worst motel that we stayed in New Zealand trip. it's not too bad but not up to standard of family unit for motel in New Zealnd. With Bella Vista's reputation and the price that we've paid, we expect more. We stay at family unit and stay only 4 adults but we've found that it's too small and this is the smallest unit that we stayed from the whole trip. Kitchen and master bed is too close.This is the only place that don't provide milk in the room - maybe you have to ask.

Good points - Bathroom is very big and location is very very good. Everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t000n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

We arrived here after dark and several hours' driving. We had to lug our suitcases up the stairs to our small room. We had difficulty storing and opening both suitcases comfortably. The kitchenette was not equipped with cooking facilities but was fine to make a hot drink, and had bowls and plates. The bathroom was really spacious and the shower was fantastic. The best part was the location -step outside and walk to restaurants and the waterfront within minutes! We probably wouldn't return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Excellent facilities, excellent price for a group of three travelers and an ideal location in the center of Wanaka. Would recommend this to others and if this is typical of the chain - it's a great find!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The motel is located behind the town center with views across the lake to the snow capped mountains in the distance.
This was a compact studio room which was small for a couple and their luggage, but ok for one night. However it was not as cramped as a similar room in Fox Glacier.
It was clean, neat, tidy and quiet.
the owner was very friendly and gave good traveling advice.
It was a predictable Belle Vista and we give it 8/10.
See my reviews on Bella Vista Fox Glacier and Te Anau.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rjpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This motel is right in the centre of Wannaka and easy walking distance to shops ,bars and the lake.We asked for a king room and were given a room on the ground floor which could sleep 5 people. This unit comprised of a large room with king bed a settee and desk and a separate bedroom with bunk beds and a single bed. The bathroom was also large with a big bath with a shower over the bath.As there was a tree directly outside the window and the outside staircase near the door the room was a little dark. However it was clean and comfortable and we slept well here and stayed for two nights.

Room Tip: Upper floors are usually brighter but don't forget heaving the suitcases upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Wanaka is a delightful town and the motel is very centrally located.

I booked a compact studio, so did not expect a large room. It was exactly as expected except that the ensuite was a good size. It may have been a small room but it was very clean and had everything we needed for one night. No kitchenette as such, but a kettle, toaster, plates, bowls, cutlery etc and fridge. We had a view of the mountains and a tiny portion of the lake and most rooms catch the afternoon and evening sun.

When we arrived someone was sweeping the outside stairs, corridors and even the carpark which shows how serious the owners are about cleanliness.

We stayed in two Bella Vistas during our tour of New Zealand and they were the smallest rooms we stayed in.

There is a charge for wifi - as there was with the other BV we stayed in - whereas a lot of other motels will give you at least 30 minutes free.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Wanaka

Property: Bella Vista Wanaka
Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION – LOCATION – LOCATION. We are situated in a fantastic location in a quiet cul de sac in the centre of town, just 150 metres from the lake front. Stay in one of the 18 modern, affordable, comfortable fully serviced units and enjoy the beautiful views that Bella Vista Wanaka has to offer. Park your car, stroll everywhere and take in the unforgettable alpine scenery of Mt. Aspiring National Park and Lake Wanaka. Stop for a lunch by the lakefront or enjoy a wine and evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing