We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Serivice, Great Room”
Review of Bella Vista Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bella Vista Wanaka
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Serivice, Great Room”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have stayed here for 5 nights over a 3 week period while climbing the mountains around Mount Cook. The place is central to everything! I didn't need a car at all. Paul at the front counter is friendly and always offers a warm welcome, his local knowledge of the shops and attractions are certainly very helpful. The room is modern and comfortable (and i even had great views of the snow capped mountains!!). I will be back to Wanaka in the future and I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    116
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
55
201
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We only stayed one night and we were upgraded without asking, which was nice. This Bella Vista is in the town, easy walking to cafes along the lake. Our room did not have any lake views but that was not what we were looking for. The customer service was pleasant, helpful and professional; and the room was outstanding, quiet and comfortable. A good value and well-managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

we stayed at the bella vista in wanaka for 2 nights and really liked it. the motel is just one block away from the main street in wanaka, yet was very quiet. needless to say, it was very convenient to walk to the various restaurants, shops, grocery store, and amazing movie theater (cinema paradiso -- highly recommended!!!).

the room was a good size with a queen sized bed, tv, small kitchenette (refrigerator and hot water kettle only, would have been nice to have a electric burner to cook with), and a really big bathroom with shower. laundry can be done for an extra fee ($6 per load). wifi was not complimentary but was quite fast.

one warning about the dryer -- the medium heat setting is rather hot and shrunk my clothes. i suppose we could have used their clotheslines if we had had the foresight.

overall, a nice place. would stay again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed here one night, the room was small but very clean the staff was very helpful with dining information, they advised us to eat at Capriccio restaurant, a short walk from the Motel, and it was delicious (see review) best lamb shoulder ever. :) I would stay here again and again. :) Happy Travels

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed in unit 5, the room was very clean and tidy and had a great sleep. Paul and Denise were the best hosts and were very helpful with where to have dinner on their recommendation I had the most tasty lamb shoulder ever, thank you to Dick and Deb from the Capricio Restaurant and Bar. When I return to Wanaka I will stay at Bella Vista Wanaka and also have Dinner at the Capricio Resturant. The only one regreat is that I did not have my family with me to enjoy the hospitality.

Room Tip: Bella Vista Motels are good value for your dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doug H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Thank you Paul for the nice recommendation for photos. They are excellent.
Super hosts....
Clean room....
Easy to find....
Lovely Place....
So convenient to New World (supermarket). 3 minutes walk only....
Will stay there again if in Wanaka again....

Room Tip: Had 4 ppl and we got the unit with 1 Queen and 1 bedroom with 2 beds. Excellent place, good cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slimth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Bella Vista is a great location right in town, but quiet, easy walk to cafes and restaurants. The owners are very friendly and knowledgable about the area. Rooms were clean, tidy and well priced. I have stayed there several times and would hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Wanaka

Property: Bella Vista Wanaka
Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION – LOCATION – LOCATION. We are situated in a fantastic location in a quiet cul de sac in the centre of town, just 150 metres from the lake front. Stay in one of the 18 modern, affordable, comfortable fully serviced units and enjoy the beautiful views that Bella Vista Wanaka has to offer. Park your car, stroll everywhere and take in the unforgettable alpine scenery of Mt. Aspiring National Park and Lake Wanaka. Stop for a lunch by the lakefront or enjoy a wine and evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bella Vista Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing