We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job well”
Review of Bella Vista Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bella Vista Wanaka
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Does the job well”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Not a bad thing to say about this place. The location is excellent--right in the middle of town, but a block to the back of the lakeside highway, so it's very quiet. The staff are very knowledgeable about things to do and can come up with good suggestions depending on your interests and what the weather is like on the day. The rooms are nice and clean, and all facilities/utilities were in good working order when we were there. Excellent value for money. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmarchnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    119
    46
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
205
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Paul & Denise were very welcoming on a cold day where I was tired from the travel. And the complimentary wifi was also very welcome. Although centrally located my downstairs room at the back of the complex was quiet and comfortable. Will definitely stay again when next in Wanaka.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lllochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passo Fundo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The location is perfect - near restaurants, shops, supermarket, and the lake. I stayed in the compact studio, which was perfect for a short stay - included tea/coffee/toast making facilities, crockery, cups & utensils. The room was clean. The hosts were very kind and helpful. The only thing that could have been better was that my room was a little cold - the front door was balcony door (glass door/wall) and the heater was a little loud. Also, the wifi wasn't free. But everything else was great! I recommend the Bella Vista Wanaka.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia_Carvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were lucky enough to have chosen the Bella Vista Motel by chance… partly due to the in central location in Wanaka and last minute availability.

To my absolute delight, what I had naively assumed to be a rather dull and soulless accommodation turned out to be anything but. The family room that we booked to accommodate 4 fully grown adults was very comfortable with a high quality kitchenette – we were able to rustle up all of the culinary delights one could expect of a few amateur chefs armed with nought but a plastic spoon, a small/medium sized slow cooker and a $4 capsicum. The 'Bella Vista Paella' recipe will be the stuff of legend in Wanaka in years to come.

The beds were much larger than originally anticipated, I was thrilled with my top bunk. An abundance of pillows and extra blankets kept us well rested and we were delighted to find that if strategically piled in the main bedroom provided a fantastic cinema-esque facility. The bathroom was very spacious, affording us the valuable opportunity to get changed in the bathroom and preserve some much needed modesty amongst friends. The bath itself, huge. Colossal. The motel had no spa, and there aren't many hot spring/ spa opportunities in Wanaka but this gargantuan tub made up for it.

Conde Nast are unlikely to award the BV motel the 2013 style award, but we weren't exactly looking for glamour, just somewhere comfy to stay in between days on the mountain.

Besides the accommodation, the service was outstanding. Our hosts were available at all hours of the day and night to assist us, there was simply no task too menial. The housekeeping staff were a delight, keeping our room spotless and providing a constant supply of Ceylon tea bags, fresh towels and snippets of local knowledge.

We cannot wait to return to the delectable BV motel for some more fun in Wanaka next year. 1 word of advice, it's a long drive from Christchurch so fill the tank up before you hit the road. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belbowhop b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Bella Vista in Wanaka is in the centre of town, close to good bars, restaurants &shops. The room we had was spacious, comfortable beds & clean bathroom. Staff were friendly enough, if a little abrupt but mostly fine. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I would definitely stay here next time I go to Wanaka. The rooms were a comfortable size with plenty of heating options. Is in an excellent location with a very short walk to a lot of restaurants and bars, and a supermarket just a block away. Parking was great and the hosts were very helpful and accomodating. Was so nice to have a drying room for all of our ski clothes so they were warm and dry when putting them on in the morning. Had a really great stay, wifi was a little on the expensive side, but was good service.

Room Tip: The twin room I stayed in was also a disabled room, so a really roomy shower and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Maybe we had the one bad room but in such a beautiful setting it is hard to imagine that they would build a hotel with such horrible views of NOTHING. The room itself was fine (a little cold) but I wanted to look at the mountains and lake... instead I got to look at the the neighbors and streets.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vashka0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Wanaka

Property: Bella Vista Wanaka
Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION – LOCATION – LOCATION. We are situated in a fantastic location in a quiet cul de sac in the centre of town, just 150 metres from the lake front. Stay in one of the 18 modern, affordable, comfortable fully serviced units and enjoy the beautiful views that Bella Vista Wanaka has to offer. Park your car, stroll everywhere and take in the unforgettable alpine scenery of Mt. Aspiring National Park and Lake Wanaka. Stop for a lunch by the lakefront or enjoy a wine and evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bella Vista Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing