We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really didn't want to leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 2 nights at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, which was really cosy and like staying in friends' house. Trish made us feel welcome from the outset with breakfast and some delicious goodies, including home-baked muffins and heart-shaped chocolates in celebration of our honeymoon. We were given some useful advice of what to visit in Wanaka. The setting of the B&B and its beautiful garden on the edge of the countryside was idyllic and allowed us stunning views of the glacier up the valley. We particularly enjoyed the lift that Dave gave us on his bike to the restaurant at a local hotel! On our final morning we entertained Poppy in the garden and it was a real wrench to finally depart for the next stage of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We like to look after all our guests at Avalanche B & B but like to make a honeymoon holiday extra special. Thank you for all your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This B and B is stunning and excellent value.

Trish and Davy are fantastic hosts and warmly welcome you to their home and garden. Our room, on the ground floor with doors out to a perfectly tended garden ( and croquet set up for your use) was huge and beautifully done out. Facilities faultless.

It's as much a perfect place to self cater as a 'normal' B and B and delicious breakfast stuff appears magically in your room

Trish and Davy a mine of information about the area , what to do and where to go, including a great tip on where to swim in the lake.

Only disappointment was that our stay wasn't long enough. We'll rectify that next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights over the 2013 Easter break. What a wonderful host!
This is the home you stay in when you're not staying at home.Warm, comfortable, beautiful garden, great views and amazing muffins! Everything for a relaxing holiday has been thought of and catered for.As a bonus, it's top value. Thanks Trish.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at Avalanche B&B for 3 nights and it was really comfortable and homely. Trish is such a good host - she provided us with a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit and homemade muesli in the morning - yum! She also gave us some really good tips on what to see and do in Wanaka - hiking up to the Rob Roy glacier, a beautiful walk around the lake, and an evening at the local boutique cinema with comfy sofas and delicious cookies! I recomend going on a fishing trip run by her husband Davey - a really relaxing day on the lake and we ate the fish we caught for dinner which was cool! Thanks Trish and Davey :)

Room Tip: The self-contained double room has everything you need, kitchen, bathroom, even a nice terrace with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natassia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. The studio accommodation was delightful and and more than satisfied all our needs for a relaxing stay. Peaceful location with a great view of Mt Avalanche in the distance and beyond the famous Rippon Wine Estate which was immediately over the garden fence. Bell birds singing in the garden only enhanced the beauty of this location on the outskirts of Wanaka. Trish and Davy were the perfect friendly hosts and ensured that our short stay was very memorable and one we would like to repeat in the future. Maybe next time to join Davy on that luxury boat.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I'm glad you appreciated the view and location at Avalanche B & B. The Bellbirds are singing as I write this as they do almost every day. I hope we do see you back here and the boat will be waiting to take you on that scenic cruise on the Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had a great three nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Trish and Davy looked after us really well - we had an amazing few hours fishing on the lake with Davy the day we arrived. Very comfortable accommodation and delicious homemade muffins, fruit salad and goodies in the fridge for breakfast. We enjoyed playing croquet on the lawn as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and the fishing trip on the lake. It's always a pleasure to see guests enjoying the garden and having fun playing croquet. I hope your daughter had success with the muffin recipe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Trish and Davey were helpful and friendly hosts. Trish provided homemade granola, cookies, and muffins daily along with other ingredients for a luscious breakfast every morning. We took a beautiful and well worth it hike to a glacier they recommended, and they helped us with tickets for a flight to Milford Sound. The apartment was clean and fresh with cooking facilites, a private patio, and gorgeous views of the mountains, countryside, and Trish's lovely flower garden. It felt like home away from home, and we recommend Wanaka and this property highly!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. We were happy to help arrange your Milford flight and recommend the walk to the Rob Roy Glacier, both spectacular trips from Wanaka. Thank you also for the feedback on the breakfast supplies and baking. Let me know if you would like any recipes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 52 in Wanaka
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
2.0 mi away
Peak Sport Chalet
Peak Sport Chalet
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Bill's Way, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and great walking/biking tracks, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing