We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2013

When we saw the studio at Avalanche Bed & Breakfast we know we will love it. There is nothing that you would miss. Our hosts Trish and Davy could not be nicer. Both like to have guest – and you can feel at every minute. This B&B was one of our most beautiful accommodations on our journey around the South Island. We like to use the BBQ and had dinner with a view over the garden and the mountains. Thanks Trish and Davy for everything again. One of our best experiences was the Wanaka Lake Cruise with Davy. If you stay in Wanaka do this! We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed only one night, but the experience is really woundful and pleasant, thouht this B & B is thousand miles away from our country, we feel like at home. Cozy and friendly, Trish and David made us as comfort as they can, the purely homemade breakfast is health and delicious, it is a amazing memory for all of us. David had also guided us to make BBQ, we will definately remember this fantastic stay and hospitable host.
Jimmy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that guests feel at home when they are so far from their own home. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world.
I'm glad you enjoyed the view and breakfast supplies and also learning to use a BBQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Thank you Trish and Davy for a wonderful stay. Everything is beautifully appointed, kitchen well equipped, beds very warm and comfortable. The garden and view to the glacier are idyllic.

The home baking and breakfast was first class, and our every need was met with a smile.

The girls all loved Poppy, and are still talking about her, and the toy selection was also a highlight.

Trish and Davy are also extremely knowledgeable about the area and provided excellent recommendations about sites and attractions.

Hopefully we will return for a ski holiday in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We enjoyed meeting you and your family and Poppy is missing all the attention the children gave her during your stay.
I hope we see you back here for that skiing holiday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 2 nights at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, which was really cosy and like staying in friends' house. Trish made us feel welcome from the outset with breakfast and some delicious goodies, including home-baked muffins and heart-shaped chocolates in celebration of our honeymoon. We were given some useful advice of what to visit in Wanaka. The setting of the B&B and its beautiful garden on the edge of the countryside was idyllic and allowed us stunning views of the glacier up the valley. We particularly enjoyed the lift that Dave gave us on his bike to the restaurant at a local hotel! On our final morning we entertained Poppy in the garden and it was a real wrench to finally depart for the next stage of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We like to look after all our guests at Avalanche B & B but like to make a honeymoon holiday extra special. Thank you for all your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This B and B is stunning and excellent value.

Trish and Davy are fantastic hosts and warmly welcome you to their home and garden. Our room, on the ground floor with doors out to a perfectly tended garden ( and croquet set up for your use) was huge and beautifully done out. Facilities faultless.

It's as much a perfect place to self cater as a 'normal' B and B and delicious breakfast stuff appears magically in your room

Trish and Davy a mine of information about the area , what to do and where to go, including a great tip on where to swim in the lake.

Only disappointment was that our stay wasn't long enough. We'll rectify that next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights over the 2013 Easter break. What a wonderful host!
This is the home you stay in when you're not staying at home.Warm, comfortable, beautiful garden, great views and amazing muffins! Everything for a relaxing holiday has been thought of and catered for.As a bonus, it's top value. Thanks Trish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at Avalanche B&B for 3 nights and it was really comfortable and homely. Trish is such a good host - she provided us with a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit and homemade muesli in the morning - yum! She also gave us some really good tips on what to see and do in Wanaka - hiking up to the Rob Roy glacier, a beautiful walk around the lake, and an evening at the local boutique cinema with comfy sofas and delicious cookies! I recomend going on a fishing trip run by her husband Davey - a really relaxing day on the lake and we ate the fish we caught for dinner which was cool! Thanks Trish and Davey :)

Room Tip: The self-contained double room has everything you need, kitchen, bathroom, even a nice terrace with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natassia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
2.0 mi away
Peak Sport Chalet
Peak Sport Chalet
#9 of 53 in Wanaka
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Bill's Way, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £105 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and great walking/biking tracks, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing