We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just a few minutes from the center of Wanaka on the edge of paradise. A spacious, well appointed studio, with home made muffins and cookies. You can watch the sun set over the snow covered mountains as sheep and horses frolic in the pastures. As others have said Trish and Davey are splendid hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you your review. I'm glad you felt so at home here at Avalanche B & B. As you say, Wanaka is on the edge of Paradise and it's great that we could contribute to your happy memories of this place.

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

One night was not really enough. Well equipped and set out this is a dream accommodation. Look out of the window at the glacier and rolling countryside. The facilities are second to none and the stay was a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and especially the views. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer next time. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Avalanche Bed & Breakfast. The appartement is very spacy and the views are fantastic.
Trish and Davy: Thank you very much for your hospitality and the support to find walks and restaurant.
See you in Wanaka again - or Berlin :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilkoottrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, the views, the walks and restaurant recommendation. Maybe we will see you in Berlin one day!

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the wonderfully spacious studio suite. Trish and Davey are perfect hosts and provided everything we could possibly need to make our stay enjoyable. Although we ate dinner out every evening, had we wanted to we could have cooked 'Cordon Bleu', the kitchen was so well equipped. Trish's baking is famed and second to none. The bed was comfortable and although we did not need it, included an electric blanket. We certainly would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as the place to stay in Wanaka for a most comfortable and relaxing experience. And finally, when the weather allows, the view of the Avalanche Glacier is delightful. If the weather does not allow the view, Trish and Davey's garden is just lovely.

Room Tip: The studio is spacious and has a kitchenette and dining area. There are other guest bedrooms and whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments on my home baking. I'm glad you had such a relaxing time here in Wanaka and that the missing hat finally reached you just in time!

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

One of the most delightful places we have stayed in. The accommodation was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The views across the garden to the snowfields of Mt Avalanche are just amazing, and it is an easy and beautiful walk into Wanaka along the lakeshore. Trish and Davey were perfect hosts, giving us lots of useful information about the area, as well as delicious breakfast provisions.
For a couple travelling around New Zealand, this was the perfect place to spend a couple of days and we only wish it could have been longer.Hopefully next time, it will!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay here especially the views, walks and the breakfast provisions. We do appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. Hope we see you again.

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A lovely, spacious and very comfortable studio opening on to a large deck with private barbecue and a pretty garden. The room has stunning views over flowers, trees and meadows to the glacier in the distance. All this is just a short walk from the lakefront. Trish and Davey are marvelous hosts, full of useful ideas and guidance covering places to go, and things to see as well as walks, wineries and restaurants. Trish also provides scrumptious breakfast provisions and treats, including her fantastic muffins. We didn't want to leave - but we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you once again for writing a lovely review for us. Having return guests is the greatest compliment and we look forward to your 4th visit to Avalanche B & B!

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great place to relax in the garden with a view of glacier after visiting beautiful Lake Wanaka. Trish makes excellent muffins too. Everything in perfect condition. Extra room for those traveling with family or friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisior review for us. It's great that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful location in Wanaka and our accommodation.

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
348 reviews
3 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
15.4 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Bill's Way, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £97 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and great walking/biking tracks, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avalanche Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing