We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I am so glad we found this place to stay for our two day trip down to Wanaka for a friend's wedding. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean (even to my husband's finicky standards), and the homemade muffins and cookies were scrumptious! Trish is the perfect hostess, friendly and helpful, and along with Poppy, the resident pet dog, helped made this a great stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mo0_mo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. I appreciate you comments on the decor and home baking. Poppy loves guests, especially if they make a fuss of her!
I'm glad you had such lovely weather for the wedding and enjoyed your experience here in Wanaka.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a wonderful find!
We stayed here for only one night (unfortunately) on a recent trip to Wanaka, but now intend to be back for a longer stay so that we can appreciate all the accommodation has to offer.
Amazing views, very spacious & clean accommodation, delicious breakfast & homemade muffins & friendly, helpful hosts.... Trish & Davey.
Apparently, according to my husband, the trout fishing in the area is also exceptional.....just ask Davey.
There are endless reasons to seek out this lovely accommodation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 20Sydney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
It was great to hear that you enjoyed Wanaka and that you husband had such a good fishing experience!
Thank you for you kind comments on our accommodation, the breakfast and the home baking.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our second stay confirmed our opinion. This has to be one of the best places to offer accommodation. We had our own studio room with kitchen and lounge, Trish's delicious muffins and home-made jams, not to mention her excellent recommendations of restaurants and walks around Wanaka. There's a beautiful garden to relax in and a splendid view. Even the DVD selection was wonderful. Trish and Davey couldn't be more helpful.

Hoggies

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 478Roger_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, General Manager at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an appreciative review for us. It is always the greatest compliment when we have return guests coming back to stay here.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Everything was perfect: an amazing view of the glacier, a wonderful room much of space, very clean. It's a bed and breakfast but it's like you are at home; all you need for breakfast is in the kitchen and Trish puts delicious fresh fruit salads in the fridge. Also the homemade muffins were outstanding. The laundry was done without asking. The use of the garden was just for us. And Wanaka itself is a pleasant town and we made a few interesting walks like the Roys Peak track. In one word, it was a perfect stay, price-quality in balance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and all your compliments. It was great that you enjoyed your stay in Wanaka and made the most of some of the scenic walks on offer here.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here last year for two night and went back again this year for four to make the most of the splendid room with its cracking view of the glacier. When I say room this doesn't do justice to the expanse of space with bedroom, kitchen and living area and adjoining bathroom It is huge and wonderfully clean and comfortable. And aside from the room you have use of the garden with patio area and BBQ for your use.

Trish puts muffins and other delicious stuff in the fridge every day so you can have your breakfast when you want it. She and Davy are terrific hosts and if you have the time go out with Davy on his boat. ((splendid opportunity to swim in a lake on an island (Moa Waho) in a lake (Wanaka) on an island ….)). Francesca's restaurant in town good too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just a few minutes from the center of Wanaka on the edge of paradise. A spacious, well appointed studio, with home made muffins and cookies. You can watch the sun set over the snow covered mountains as sheep and horses frolic in the pastures. As others have said Trish and Davey are splendid hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you your review. I'm glad you felt so at home here at Avalanche B & B. As you say, Wanaka is on the edge of Paradise and it's great that we could contribute to your happy memories of this place.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

One night was not really enough. Well equipped and set out this is a dream accommodation. Look out of the window at the glacier and rolling countryside. The facilities are second to none and the stay was a real pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and especially the views. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer next time. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and a quality restaurant, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing