We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Bar

Lake Bar
Ranked #12 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We ordered the chicken burger and it was so yummy. The meal was great value. I look forward to visiting next time forsure! Thank you for a wonderful feed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLilley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for your review, Emma, hope to see you back at Lake Bar again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    132
    28
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice pub to grab grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

On our first night in Wanaka my husband and I were looking for a local place to grab a bite to eat. We were told to try out the Lake Bar. When we arrived we had no problem getting a seat and ordered our drinks quickly after that. They had a great selection of Ales to choose from, before we decided to start with the calamari. The calamari was perfectly fried, not a lot of excess oil and a nice crispy outside. I was tired of heavy fried food so I went with the lamb salad and my husband chose the lamb chops. My salad was exactly what I was looking for, light and crisp. The lamb chops were well cooked and the sauce paired with it perfectly.

There were some great TV's so we could watch the match as we ate and the atmosphere was very pub like. We enjoyed ourselves, our pints and the food. If your in town looking for some great pub food I highly recommend you having a pint and a bite at the Lake Bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thankyou for your kind review, although our Lamb Salad & Lamb Chops have just now been removed from our menu until the Summer, we have replaced these with a Lamb Massaman Curry, made with the eye fillet lamb and Lamb Shanks that full apart on your plate and melt in your mouth. thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great service great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Warm environment great service and great food. we went for dinner on a particular evening and I ordered a favourite dish of mine only to be told that the dish was only for the lunch time menu so I asked the waiter to ask the chef if he could please make it as it is a favourite of mine and the waiter returned and said that the chef will cook your required dish which was great service and the food very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank love2eat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for your kind review, I am pleased to hear my staff are continually being proactive and accommodating where possible to all our guests. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Well priced, good service, good standard pub grub menu... Ribs are good..
Large area with plenty of tv watching spots :)

Helpful?
Thank April-c-is-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your great review, we have set our menu at the GOOD Pub Style food, with decent portions & value for money, Ribs are a favourite of mine too. Large TV screens situated thru out the Bar & Restaurant are great to be able to sit & view the sports teams you support, pleased you enjoyed your visit to Lake Bar and maybe see you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great menu choices for a day time snack. Very friendly staff warm and welcoming. Pool table to keep the bug kids busy too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your kind review, The all day Tapas style menu is a great choice for a little variety either for yourself or a couple to share amongst friends and Pool Table is a new addition, pleasing to see it working well for our diners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Bar also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Lake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing