We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasting food at a great price”
Review of Lake Bar

Lake Bar
Ranked #12 of 87 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Meals were massive. Taste was good. I made the mistake of not having an empty belly before eating the shanks. Had to be rolled home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ApteryxRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your great review, we pride ourselves on real hearty food at a great affordable price. Pleased you enjoyed your experience at Lake Bar, sorry we made you so full - lol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Lake Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 353 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned to Aus. after a fantastic time in beautiful Wanaka.
Lunch we had delicious Cajun wraps with great chips, my mate had chowder and loved it.
Dinner we had the best ribs of our lives. Then a chocolate desert to die for.Best 5 star pub food ever.
Exactly what you need after a day on the slopes.
I want to say hi to Joshua, Chris & Hallie.
You guys do the work of 6.
Only complaint.
They could range more craft beer:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your great review, Ribs are a personal favourite of mine and yes Josh, Hayley & Chris are great hosts for Lake Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

As the name suggests, Lake Bar has a great view over lake Wanaka. The decore was very warm as were the staff. Beware, meals are large. We ordered an entree each and then struggled to finish our mains. Food was good and I loved the range of beers on tap. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for your great review - yes we are very lucky to have the best views of the paradise we live in at our front door. Some of the meals are very filling, we pride ourselves on great value for money. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Thanks heaps to the staff at The Lake Bar you made our time in Wanaka so enjoyable. We all had a great time with yummy meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TinJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for great review jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Awesome food and a serving size the was incredibly large.
Struggled to get through it....just.
Brilliant

Thank neil34105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Owner at Lake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your great review, pleased you enjoyed the shanks, it is a personal favourite of ours as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing