We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and very clean.”
Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed over Easter. Very peaceful location. The motel was very spacious and very clean. We had a handicapped person with us and she was not able to step into the shower. The owner constructed steps for us. As ex-motel owners we know what good service is and we certainly received it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 743AlanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you Alan, what a pleasure it was to host your party at Archway. We always believe that more guest satisfaction would occur every time if guests actually ask for what they actually need, including providing specific information or instruction especially when guests are struggling to work something out. We love helping make your stay the best it can be- and this was only possible in your case because you asked for specific help or requests. We wish you all the very best & hopefully we will see you again soon. Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Archway Motels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed in a superior chalet studio in February 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. The room was spacious, clean and well-equipped and well-serviced. The motel is in a quiet location set back from the road. Pleasant helpful owners. Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback not only for us but for the travelling public. We are always looking to look after our guests and to make their stay & experience as comfortable & pleasant as possible. All the best & warmest wishes Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for one night. Comfortable, well-equipped and quiet motel just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Wanaka. The host was very friendly and helpful. There is also a very friendly cat in residence.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

It is always a pleasure to find guests making the effort to share their Archway experiences. We enjoyed having you to stay as well and Archie the friendly Burmese cat is very much a part of the family & motel. We are always looking to add and improve our units and facilities but it is also lovely to find guests whom are really satisfied with what we are currently providing. All the best for your future travels and may they continue to be rewarding & fun. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We planned to stay in Wanaka for 2 nights and ended up with two self-contained, 2-bedroom units at the Archway Motel as we wanted 2 bathrooms for 4 adults. The wood panelling made the place feel dark and dingy, but overall it was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Each unit had a double bed and 2 singles. The bedrooms were small with minimal space for luggage so we used the living area for our bags. The bed was well slept in and we tended to roll into the middle - hence did not sleep well. We used the BBQ and laundry, and also 30 mins WiFi for each room. One of the units had a large fridge and a dishwasher - ours only had a small bar fridge. Hairdryer was provided but only one bedroom had a mirror near a socket.

Room Tip: Other rooms looked better and lighter than 8 & 9.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you your valuable feedback. It is quite strange & ironic that the more we have upgraded our units and interiors the more little niggly comments have come through lately. We are guessing that for some unknown reason more guests are wanting to focus on small issues and more negatives than positives. This concerns us but we always accept constructive feedback and we take these issues seriously. We are only in this business because we love hosting & satisfying guests. We look forward to more positives Warm wishes- your hosts Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Imagine 1960's holiday camp accomodation and this is what rooms 1 - 9 are like. However rooms 10 - 16 are the rustic log cabins (built in 1990's) that alot of the TA reviews refer to.
Having said that, our room (4) had all the equipment we needed and it's a 15 minute walk (downhill) into town (restaurants / lake etc), so was situated in a convenient location. Paper thin walls to the units but there's a policy of no noise outside after 10pm, so we slept quite well. Owners helpful and onsite all the time.

Room Tip: rooms 10 - 16
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for your comments. However we feel your views are somewhat harsh and we do not hide the fact that we are an older style motel- many just love the older, comfortable feel. As responded as to a previous guest whom focus on the exterior outlook- please do not judge the book always by the cover.Our units are well insulated,most have been upgraded in Units 1-9 and we get very positive comments about no noise between units, tasteful decor and quiet location.

If you were correct about reviews we would have no problem supporting your views about these units but thankfully we have most guests enjoying the spacious, modernised & re-insulated accommodation and the hospitality. We wish you all the best on your trip. Regards Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This place is one of the largest rooms we had in a month of traveling in NZ. Wood paneling
does you feel like you are in a rustic log cabin. Good kitchen and a great individual
BBQ. Owner/manager was very helpful. Close walk to a very scenic town that overlooks a lake.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDukeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We encourage all guests to provide this- hopefully directly to us and also to share on independent sites. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and your stay and we really appreciate the time you have taken to pass on positive experiences. This is when we love our hosting position the most and see happy customers whom have had a comfortable stay and seen the best of what each place has to offer is very satisfying. Please enjoy the rest of your trip. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The location is just a few minutes walk from the center of town. Our room was a large size with beds for three and a generous sized kitchen area. The arm chairs were comfortable.
The wooden wall paneling gave the impression of being in a log cabin and contributed somewhat to the dark atmosphere caused by lack of sufficient window light. The water pressure in the shower seemed to be a little lower than one would expect.

After leaving I was surprised to discover a NZ $5 extra fee charged for paying by credit card as thus had not happened in any other place we stayed in New Zealand.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback we always welcome guests constructive comments.

Firstly we usually only charge a processing fee that guests are made very aware of- at the time of booking( Or check-in where our check-in slips do highlight our terms & conditions) where we will clearly advise that a small fee will be applied during the booking process.( Especially for AMEX transactions) as an example. We are sorry to hear that you did misunderstood or did not realise the terms & conditions of your booking and it may simply have been that these were overlooked.This may easily happen.We suggest you re-check your booking terms & conditions to see that this amount was indeed explained as an extra fee and for transactions ( Usually $2.50 for stays under $150 and also only when you book through only a very limited specific 3rd party site(s) whom then charge us 12-15% commission which does not include processing credit card fees.



As for the chalet log cabins they are designed and described as rustic, wooded units like log cabins and in hot Summer months most guests love the extra space and cooler units without getting too hot( This does depend which chalet you are in)

We suggest that guests carefully read all the descriptions & images which are transparent on our descriptions & images. No two rooms are the same and the chalets all face slighty different directions which is quite unique.

We are pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we look forward to looking after you another time. Warm regards Your Archway Hostd

Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing