We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place made even better by great owners”
Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place made even better by great owners”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The location, rooms and value for this place are all excellent but what really made this place totally awesome are the owners - Paul and Bridgit.
We arrived after a long drive from Christchurch; Paul and Bridgit looked after our bags and allowed us access to a room to get changed so we could go skiing. They provided friendly service, recommendations that were on the money (where to eat, drink, local ski conditions) as well as where to rent gear, including vouchers for local discounts in Wanaka. They even turned the heater on before we arrived so the room was warm and checked if we needed anything before we left. You can pay more to stay in a similarly great place, but I guarantee no matter how much you pay, you won't get this level of service and hospitality - stay here in Wanaka. Seriously, just do it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suyog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
What a joy it is to welcome & look after guests whom just appreciate everything you do for them. Thank you for your wonderful & positive comments. A motel is not just a room or a bed although a great comfortable bed does make a big difference!. We loved having you to stay and your energy, questions & positivity was very infectious. We are here to accommodate, & make your stay the best it can be. We are pleased you were very happy with the service & hospitality. It is guests like yourselves that keep us "loving" our vocation. We wish you all continued great experiences and hopefully we will see some of you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    63
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
67
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Archway Motel last week (early June 2013) and we were very happy with the choice. The room, although somewhat dated and basic, was super clean and very warm and comfortable. The bathroom had a basic shower and a heated towel rail and again was super clean. The bed was very warm and comfortable - in fact of all the motels we stayed in during that week, this was the most comfortable of all the beds. Full sized barbeques are provided for all units to use free of charge and this was a great idea. The motel is set back from the main road and is very quiet. Overall we were most satisfied with our stay. It is obvious to see that the owners take a real pride in this motel and we were glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree_Auckland_1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank You for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback- every comment helps to keep us on track with providing quality experiences and getting guests to come back many times. We have invested significant resources into upgrading beds, & bedding linens and to keeping our units well-equipped. The highlight of our day, week or year is always" satisfied guests" to ensure they have a comfortable & memorable stay in Wanaka. We love sharing our beautiful town with visitors and share the same passion for enjoyment & continual improvement. We look forward to seeing you again. To see what updates & improvements we have made visit our facebook page( On our website)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stumbled across this motel, and SO glad we did, one of the most pleasant stays in our road trip around the South Island, wished we could have stayed longer.
Bridgit made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to recommend a good place to eat in town, my American friend was very impressed with the unit, it was so warm!!
Extremely comfortable bed, didn't want to leave next morning.
It appears a little older from the street, but the upgraded interiors are a super surprise.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the valuable time to write a review. We were very happy and found it heart-warming to read how much you enjoyed our facilities & your stay at Archway. Were find it very rewarding to know that all the upgrading we have been focusing on continuously over 7 years is much appreciated by our guests.As we often say- "Please do not always judge a book by the cover". We are always looking for ways to improve which is a on-going process. We loved hosting you both and we look forward to seeing you in Wanaka another time. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at Archway over the weekend of the 11/12 May 2013 our hosts Bridgit and Paul were very helpful with advice on visiting Wanaka. We found the room had everything you needed if you wanted to self cater, even BBQ's. The room was large and warm, the bed was very comfortable which made it difficult, having to get up in the morning. We visited the Transport & Toy Museum and found it very interesting and great value a must if you are visiting Wanaka.

Room Tip: We had No 14 chalet, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you Dave,

It was wonderful to meet you both and a pleasure to have you experience our updated new king bed-triple-sheeted concept in our chalet studio. We are trying out new ideas and now wish to proceed to adding more King beds & the new bedding concept to our other chalets over time. As you comment on-these units are privately positioned, set back and very quiet. The favourite part of our hosting role is helping guests with enjoying the town & region as much as possible. We look forward to seeing you both another time- See you in Oamaru perhaps as well. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice spacious unit in very pleasant grounds and with great facilities.
Handy for either walk into town or out to Eely Point - a nice evening stroll.
Really liked the relaxed atmosphere in Wanaka itself too - perhaps 'cause not really on the tourist map as such but found it so much nicer than Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback..We especially were pleased to read your comments about how much you enjoyed Wanaka. It certainly is a special hidden place not just as a stop-over but as a base from which to do-day trips- the news is finally getting out there. We look forward to hosting you another time. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom apartment and although old it was very warm and comfortable. A lovely short walk into town centre and very helpful service. Definitely recommend this place if you don't want super up market and modern accommodation.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you as always for your time taken to provide valuable feedback. We are an older motel but as you commented on- we have attempted to upgrade the units and facilities to allow our guests to easily self-cater and provide necessary facilities & services. We also have the few little luxury extras as you suggest with the dishwasher & fridge-freezer in your unit. Our hillside cedar hot tubs are another example of a more-"up-market" unique eco-experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip & welcome you back to Archway & Wanaka in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had an overnight here on the way through the South Island, arriving late and were made to feel very welcome. The accommodation was comfortable and well equipped and Brigitte arranged the next leg of our journey, a motel and cruise in Doubtful Sound which was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you Ruth for your lovely comments and we feel an important part of the hosting role that we find the most rewarding is the helping guests to enjoy not only the current property and place but to also forward book or advise to ensure you get to experience everything that best suits your needs and also potentially avoid disappointment of a full trip or miss a wonderful walk or museum. All the very best of wishes. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Property: Archway Motels
Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing