We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay in Wanaka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Wanaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here three nights and were pleased with the facilites. The room was well laid out and we cooked our dinners each night, taking advantage of the barbecue. We used the storage room for our skis and did our laundry.

They may look on a map to be a bit out of town but we walked into town in ten minutes one evening. It is off the main road enough of a distance to be secluded.

Bridgit and Paul were very friendly and helpful, doing their best to help guests have a good stay.

They were having problems with their internet service and put in a new system while we were there. We were unable to use it for two of our three nights which was a bit of a problem. We realize that they were working hard to improve service so good for them.

We also had not realized that you had to book the hot tub and that it had a fee. This was a bit of a disappointment and I think this should be made much more clear on their website.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your most valuable comments. You were very patient and understanding guests at a time when after 200 lightening strikes( One event in a 10 year period) our technology and power surge systems were tested to the limit. However our Wi-Fi gateway and system died basically and within 48 hours a totally new different system was flown from Auckland & installed in that time. It did have a couple of teething problems but guests were wonderful and appreciative.Due to operating a completely different WI-FI we can now offering between 50 & 100 MB as a free allocation start-up. In terms of location, we are set back slightly from noise & the road in 2 acres of land and it is only 5- 7 minutes walk from the furtherest away store or restaurant and only 2 minutes or less from half the services & value eating places.Our hot tubs are a $50,000 -$100,000 2-3 year development investment involving, 250 hillside path & supporting landscape & structural & engineeering developments and the same hand made tubs in Omarama & Queenstown charge $65 per person plus for their tub sessions. For many bookings over 3 days or longer we do often offer a free hot tub.We often package a hot tub also in our packages on our specials page- indicating a fee usually applies.The $10 -$15 per person fee for a private session heated to your customised temperature but barely covers the actual running costs and we do explain these are very special unique up on the hillside hot tub experience not just a spa. Apologies for not being clearer on our website that these are a free- activity but in 90% of our communications we do say you need to pay & book to avoid disappointment- even on our website and because it is a seasonal offering- they are only by arrangement for some periods.We will certainly clarify further so there is no future confusion.It was great to have you stay and enjoy our Archway experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    60
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night at the archway motel. The lady at the front desk was so friendly, making sure to give us milk and even a paper! So kind, it's details like that that leave a lasting impression and make you want to return! Fully equipped kitchen, great comfy beds, and a spacious bathroom (even a heated towel rack!). We'd come back! Wanaka and it's lake is beautiful, the archway was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charmmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
How lovely of you to take the time to share your Archway experiences. It means a tremendous amount to us. The most rewarding part of our day is welcoming guests and helping them enjoy their stay. We are very pleased you found everything to your liking and that your experience was memorable. The same applies to Paul & I- it is about the quality of the interactions we have with our various guests that makes it worthwhile not always" how long" a period you stay here. Although hopefully over time more & more people will enjoy spending more time in the Wanaka region. Please keep sharing your views, experiences & stories and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The lady on the desk was really nice and had very pleasant chat as we discussed our options having just drove in off the street. Was genuine as opposed to the forced friendliness so often encountered. She was why we were happy to stay and were glad we did.

The room was spacious and homely if a little outdated in some decor. clearly well maintained but some things were fairly new so when something has finally had its day it must be removed pretty quickly as nothing was tatty.

Would stay again simply to support a well run and friendly local business over the impersonal chains. And if I'm wrong and this is indeed a cgaintgen the job being done is extremely impressive!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewmagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Gosh- thank you so much for being so upfront, honest & providing such positive & valuable feedback. Firstly, we appreciate all the well-equipped positive comments and we also acknowledge our motel is a bit dated- built in the 1960,s through to 1990,s. If we owned the land & buildings & won lotto we would completely re-build as the aspect & location with 2 acres of land close to town- beckons us to do this. However, reality says- make the most of what you have- so we add new features( cedar hot tubs)renovate, improve, upgrade units, décor, bedding , services & facilities" which we are continually doing. As far as your positive comments about-" service & hospitality- we hope that is what most guests feel is very important as it is disappointing to visit a town only to find after leaving that you didn't get to experience the highlights you would have appreciated. We love people, asking what they need & what they may want to experience and enjoy. We look forward to more appreciative guests like yourselves & to improving what we can offer you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic! Bridget and Paul were very helpful. We were upgraded and when I needed to book my husbands birthday present, they rang around everyone trying to find an activity for us to do! Would HIGHLY recommend the Archway Motel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you and what more can we say!! Lovely guests wanting to enjoy & make the most of their stay in Wanaka- you were a pleasure to meet & look after. That is our vital role as hospitality representatives.We are glad you found the room, service & hospitality to your satisfaction. Birthdays-which ever one- are always special and should be treated as such- yours this year hopefully will have been very memorable not because of what you couldn't do but what you did do- and enjoyed :-) Look forward to another time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We only booked one night in the Archway Motels, to stop on our way to Queenstown. There had been some booking mistake from the website we used apparently, meaning that the type of room we requested was no longer available, however we got upgraded to a larger unit, which was nice. Our stop was only to rest and take off again in the morning, so it didn't make too much of a difference.

The Motel room was comfortable and well equipped, although a bit more dated than other places we have stayed at. The shower in the bathroom was a bit awkward as there was no shower curtain to prevent water from going everywhere.

Wanaka lake and town centre are in walking distance (around 10-15 minutes).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PVinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank You so much for your review- although some 6 or 7 months later. We apologise sincerely for no shower curtain as we certainly do always use these but if overlooked in the cleaning & inspection phase we would welcome & expect the guest to let us know as soon as noticed. Your upgraded unit was a 2 bedroom( You booked the entry level economy unit) unit-fully equipped with full cooking oven & all the extras. That unit was completely upgraded in May since you visited as we can only achieve this in our "Off-season". We welcome you both back next visit to experience a hopefully the difference. Our motel is clearly described with images that we are an older-style motel but we find with most of the upgrades done that now the rooms feel refreshed with modern décor/furnishing, new paint etc. We hope you enjoyed Wanaka & your trip to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Partner and I stayed here for a night in June after we randomly picked a number out of the accommodation guide. What a great choice it was! The owners were very welcoming and friendly - along with their gorgeous cat.
The rooms were great! Kitchen was well equipped and the shower was good. The bed was extremely comfortable, we both had the best night sleep!
Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for making the effort & time to share your stay experience at Archway. We enjoyed getting to know you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, facilities & of course" Archie" our very personable Burmese cat. As you mention- too often get just one night stays but so many people wished they could have stayed longer & that is why we hope in the future- guests or their friends get the opportunity to experience all the activities & scenic vistas in Wanaka. Safe travels & keep communicating & sharing- it really helps us to get things "right".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The location, rooms and value for this place are all excellent but what really made this place totally awesome are the owners - Paul and Bridgit.
We arrived after a long drive from Christchurch; Paul and Bridgit looked after our bags and allowed us access to a room to get changed so we could go skiing. They provided friendly service, recommendations that were on the money (where to eat, drink, local ski conditions) as well as where to rent gear, including vouchers for local discounts in Wanaka. They even turned the heater on before we arrived so the room was warm and checked if we needed anything before we left. You can pay more to stay in a similarly great place, but I guarantee no matter how much you pay, you won't get this level of service and hospitality - stay here in Wanaka. Seriously, just do it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suyog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
What a joy it is to welcome & look after guests whom just appreciate everything you do for them. Thank you for your wonderful & positive comments. A motel is not just a room or a bed although a great comfortable bed does make a big difference!. We loved having you to stay and your energy, questions & positivity was very infectious. We are here to accommodate, & make your stay the best it can be. We are pleased you were very happy with the service & hospitality. It is guests like yourselves that keep us "loving" our vocation. We wish you all continued great experiences and hopefully we will see some of you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Property: Archway Motels
Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing