We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying a week! Great location - only a few minutes walk to town and lake, but very quiet and peaceful cabins set amongst trees and gardens. The cabin felt private and cozy, with well-equipped kitchen, near-new bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. A lot of great walks in the area.

The prime factor though would have to be the owners - Bridgit and Paul. They were very helpful and welcoming and treated you like a person, not a room number. It felt like they really cared about the place and in making it an enjoyable experience for everyone staying there. Would definitely go back and stay there again (was very hard to leave!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
WOW, thank you so much for taking the time to provide such vital & very positive feedback.
As much as life & travel is a journey, sometimes it is the positive minded people & magical places that connect at just the right time. You were able to experience the beautiful Autumn colours, participate in the best walks on picture perfect sunny days in the amazing Southern Lakes & pristine shores of Lake Wanaka. We appreciated your comments about our chalets, location & quiet bush & garden setting. But above all it was lovely to be acknowledged for genuine hospitality. Actually it is the guests and their appreciation that makes us love hosting & stay on for another 7 years. We hope your travels continue to be full of happy times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    60
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Clean rooms, well equipped with little extras in the full kitchen. Clean and comfortable, although a little dated in appearance. Friendly staff and the outdoor areas were great with furniture and BBQ's. The owners offered us lots of information about attractions and dining. A nice place to stay while in Wanaka.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
It's always satisfying to read such positive comments & valuable feedback and so we thank you for this. Our out-dated appearance unfortunately would take many thousands of precious dollars to change significantly but we have replaced a roof, re-painted the front balconies & fences and erected a new wood-stained entrance & boundary fence- all in the last year. We will make other major improvements as or when they can be afforded. Thank you once again.Warmest wishe- your hosts Bridgit & Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for four nights after booking for two due to travel changes. Room was a little dated, but with plenty of space. Big kitchen area. Shower was new, the drop in type. Friendly and relaxed staff. Helpful though as i left a couple of items there and they contacted the travel company to advise them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and obviously being able to stay on extra days is always a bonus & rewarding for all concerned. As you will realise our property dates back to the late 1960's & additions in the 1980's & mid-1990,s. We would love to be able to completely upgrade the building & units outside & inside but it is not always possible but we did plan 5 years ago to build new units so you never know. Keep enjoying your travels. Warm regards Your Hosts Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Archway for only one night, but found it very comfortable. We had a room with a well stocked kitchenette. The room was spacious and all furniture and coverings seemed to be brand new. The bathroom was very nice, except for the old-fashioned plastic shower curtain !
The motel was located within walking distance of the city centre and eateries.
Overall, we liked it and would stay again - happily.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BobSuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your thoughts & experiences whilst staying a short while at Archway. We are always trying to update our units etc Although you found the shower curtain somewhat old fashioned shower curtains are pretty modern colours & almost new and we prefer these to heavy plastic ones as we replace them each guest visit & find them more hygienic with little or no mildew, soap residue building up. We will continue to keep up-dating and upgrading our units & facilities as funds allow. Much appreciated. Your hosts Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked a single cabin but were "upgraded" to a larger room with 5 beds. At first we were happy about it but then realized we had much less privacy and possibly a less modern room. Overall the motel was OK. Nothing exceptional but definitely would stay again if needed. Facilities were clean and the location was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauelipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback .We do apologise about providing you a different unit than you had booked which did not then meet your expectation-. Yes the unit is older than the unit you booked but we hoped all the extra space & included free benefits would outweigh any disadvantages. That particular unit has net curtains & blinds but because like most motels you are near other units and in your instance- the guest laundry was next door- it may have been busier than you would have wanted and that night was particularly busy in the laundry for no particular reason. we feel sorry about this point and we hope we do try not to change units very often.We wish you continued good travels & positive experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was fine for the one night we needed but seemd a bit dated. Water pressure was very low and there were no blinds or net curtains so either you had to close the main curtains or be exposed to passers by on both sides of the room.
Ok in summer but would be draughty in winter as single glazed metal framed windows.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Welcome And thank you always for your feedback- much appreciated. We are not sure what you mean about no net curtains or blinds as we have both or alternative options in most of our units- blinds(pull down) & curtains on all our studio windows & doors.( Net curtains are not practical in these units) Our family units with more space and bigger windows & doors have both net curtyains & curtains & blinds in the kitchen as do our chalets. This therefore bemuses us. Compared to the hundreds of hotels & motels people have have stayed they often congratulate us on the level of privacy & warmth & cooling options.Our units in the winter are surprising well insulated- ironically due to the more efficient, dated concrete foundation & the excellent metal based window frames imported from the UK. Once again,Guests staying at newer motels on their stay often comment on how sound-proof & warm our units are in comparison. Older does not always mean inferior !We do however respect your comments and apologise if you did not find these features to your liking or expectation.We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked this reasonably last minute and the husband and wife team were very friendly over email, even making sure we were away of road closures that may have effected our journey. Welcome was warm and our room was as expected. It's interesting reading others comments regarding the dated nature of some of the rooms as to us it just mirrored what we had seen in the other motels we'd stayed in during our time in New Zealand. On cleanliness, we had no problem with the room, although we did have to wipe down the patio furniture before we could use it as it was very dusty. Location is good, although if you want a view of the lake, this wouldn't be my recommendation. That said, being a bit further up the hill does make it lovely and peaceful. BBQ with the apartment was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling_M_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your positive & constructive comments always appreciated. Yes we have always been an older motel with upgraded furnishings, beds etc. Many guests also comment how much they enjoyed the comfortable spacious rooms & surroundings. Certainly lakeviews would translate to higher tariffs but in beautiful Wanaka you can soak in the views all day & hopefully guests do not come to spend all their time in their rooms. Having said that, our views are quite unique, natural & relaxing-gardens, trees & mountains.Our apologies for the garden table being dusty but we clean it twice a week but the extra dry conditions, gravel driveway & windy dusty storms all contributed to to an extra dusty 2 weeks .We will aim to keep these as clean as possible although in 2 hours they gather dust again .Warmest Wishes Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Property: Archway Motels
Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing