We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and under-spiced”
Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Spice Room is an exciting new Indian Restaurant and Lounge, with a fresh and healthy take on authentic Indian flavours. Warm up next to the big fire in the lounge with eclectic Indian snacks, salads and curries. Or relax and dine in with our affordable wine and cocktail list. The menu has been designed keeping in mind the authentic favors of India along with the diversity of various dishes, there is a lot of emphasis given on home style Indian cooking which is uncomplicated, yet brings out the favors for which Indian cuisine is so popular.With over 25 years of collective experience in the kitchen, you can be rest assured that you are going to be treated to the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Overpriced and under-spiced”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We went to The Spice Room for dinner and, based on TA reviews, were expecting the richly spiced, highly flavoursome food that typifies a good Indian restaurant. We were disappointed to find the food, while not completely bland, was lacking that expected richness of flavour.

We shared a plate of onion and spinach bhaji for an entree, and followed up with chicken korma and sizzling tandoori chicken dish for mains. The bhajis were fine but the 'tamarind chutney' was more of a thin sauce. The korma was very mildly spiced - all spices, not just a lack of chilli. The tandoori chicken was better, but still left us wanting more distinctive, stronger flavours. The naan bread was quite good, while the rice was very plain.

The prices at the Spice Room are higher than average for Indian restaurants. Our mains were around $24 each, with naan and rice being extra.

Service is very good. The staff and friendly and attentive. The entree and mains arrived in good time and were well presented.

Overall, we were disappointed with our visit to The Spice Room. The food was certainly below the quality that we are used to in good Indian restaurants - regardless of price. Next time in Wanaka, we will try one of the other Indian restaurants.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    231
    66
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Butter Chicken”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have eaten here before and it was recommended by the owner of an Indian restaurant in Queenstown.the food is excellent and this was the best better chicken we had anywhere in New Zealand. We had the meal spiced up to "hot" and as usual in New Zealand this in no way impaired the flavour.Service is good and the staff can advise you on the meals and waht may best suit you. We would have preferred the water provided to have been chilled.
There is also a Spice Room in Queenstown which is also worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“overpriced and skimpy”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

recently ate here with my wife, restaurant is appealing inside, staff were friendly and polite.
we ordered a goan curry and chicken jalfrieze, neither was anymore than average quite simple in flavour and we were both disapointed at the amount of meat/prawn, for a curry priced over $20 without rice i beleive 4 small pieces of chicken is not acceptable.
the naan was fine but again small.
local wanaka beer served on tap was a good addition.
as supposidly the best indian restaurant in wanaka i would have expected much more and would prefare to spend my cash elsewhere in the area if we returned.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jess h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good size dishes and very flavoursome. Service was very good although quite busy. There was a young family eating whilst we were there with very noisy children, the staff dealt with it very professionally keeping all patrons happy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
246 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Delicious Meal,”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went here for a special occasion dinner and enjpyed it immensely. The setting was very good, not too crowded, warm and comfortable. The food was delicious, it's a more subtle style of Indian food; dont come here for throat choking spicy. We splurged out and did the banquet for two, which was much too much food but gave a taste of the very good goat curry and the venison, which really did melt in the mouth. The Goan curry with prawns and scallops was excellent value though could have had moe tamarind. ( fyi there were 3 large scalops and 4 whole prawns in this dish.) We pushed ourselves and had the novel chocolate naan. This should be banned as a health risk, it was just too good. We will be returning here in future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing