We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fire, friendly service”
Review of Luggate Hotel

Luggate Hotel
Ranked #52 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Central Otago's best kept secret. Lunch and Dinner served daily from 12 noon till late Reserve grade Beef,Seafood,Venison, Relax in our dinning room in front of raring fires or in summer in our beautiful garden bar. We cater for dietary needs and have been serving the locals since 1867
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fire, friendly service”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Went for a drive from Wanaka with friends and stopped for lunch on a cold day. Welcome fire, friendly service. Limited menu but was very satisfactory, great little country pub. Enjoyed our HUGE cheese toasties, well filled and tasty with lashings of tomato relish. Great tomato juice! We could have had soup as well which looked good. Happy to come back next time we are in Wanaka.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    4
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I live here and I am embarrassed. Party of 22 half finised meals other members of the party yet to be served. A joke.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Sticky un clean tables. Went down hill from there. Meals good and simple but the time it's taken to get the meals onto the sticky tables is just too long.

Helpful?
Thank peterdD3969DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must have had the off cut steak?”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our family stopped in to the nice pub tonight and whilst we were surprised at the limited menu other than steak, a salmon and a pork option we indulged in the varied steak options.
I had the salmon that was really nice and my kids, 20 years plus, had a steak each. They all enjoyed even my youngest daughter who isn't a steak eater by a long shot.
However hubby paid top price for a rip eye 300 g steak and basically it was inedible because of all the fat and tendon etc. pretty much 50% inedible.
Now we wouldn't have bothered to add a review on tripadvisor as the place had a nice homely feel and had roaring fires going this cold winters day. However not a mention of even a small discount and as such I will be mentioning that this place can be a little hit and miss, unfortunately.
Heading north tomorrow, so cheers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A REAL HIDDEN GEM just 10 minutes from Lake Wanaka. They'll even arrange you a complimentary shuttle there and back!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Luggate Hotel is a fantastic wee hidden gem. If you're visiting Wanaka you'll be missing out not to include a visit to The Luggate Hotel. It is an old stone pub with roaring fires in the winter, well stoked, friendly bar staff, frequented by welcoming locals and travellers alike. With a gorgeous garden bar too, set amongst a backdrop of hills, trees and the beautiful Central Otago countryside. Fantastic food (go for coffee, lunch or dinner ... or bar snacks). This is not the usual slip-slop-slap pub food ... they do an awesome dinner menu, and the fare is world class and cooked to perfection. But if you're just after a basket of chips with your pint, they do that too ... it's the best of both worlds! Lovely range of beverages for all ... local (and not so local) wines, beer by the bottle or on tap (pints & jugs), excellent spirit & non-alcoholic selection too. Live music. Great for singles, couples, families and large groups. I have been here numerous times and absolutely LOVE it! For something really special check out the annual Luggate Ball! They even put on complimentary shuttle transport to and from Wanaka all year round! What more could you want?! I totally love the Luggate Pub, it is one of my most favourite spots... and one that not everyone has clocked onto yet!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABundleofFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullock2013, General Manager at Luggate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your awesome review! We really appreciate all the kind things you have said. We agree that it is a total hidden gem. Glad you enjoy it as much as us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We had lunch there today. The Salmon was cooked ok but the salad was dry...no dressing. Straight out the bag. The toasted sandwich was soggy and unappetising. The people next to us asked if they could have a vegetarian toastie. Basically as per the menu but without the ham. However the manager explained that the toasted sandwiches are "pre prepared", so nothing could be taken out. That explains the soggy toastie. Coffee was unexplainably bad.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwiReviewr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullock2013, General Manager at Luggate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations on your visit. If you come back to our restaurant we would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for management. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Cheers the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luggate Hotel also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Albert Town, Otago Region
 

Been to Luggate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing