We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #6 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Awesome place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Was really impressed with the studio at the Peak Sport Chalet. The chalet was very clean, warm, quiet and comfortable. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and couldnt do enough to help. Will definitely be staying here in future. Great value for money. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
130
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

A nice small chalet complex in the middle North Wanaka, with reasonable views of the surrounding mountains and direct view of Treble Cone skifield.

I had the studio unit which was perfect for a couple, with compact kitchen, nice bathroom and heat pump.

The owners were very friendly and accommodating.

The only downsides are limited on site parking and that it's a 15 minute walk to the town centre.

But if you are looking good value accommodation you can't go past Peak Sport Chalet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loyal-QPR-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Arrived to a warm fire, scrumptious cake and friendly hosts Peter and Diane. Perfect set up for our family of five with older children. Convenient location to town and ski fields. Beautiful scenery, great atmosphere and nowhere near as busy as Queenstown! Very sad to leave Wanaka and the PS Chalet...guess we'll just have to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in the studio chalet during our recent trip to NZ. Alex and Christine were away on holidays when we visited but we received a warm welcome from Peter and the card and fruit cake left out for us were much appreciated after our longer than expected journey!

The studio was very clean, warm and comfortable, with a lovely view of the mountains from the deck. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a great bonus during winter and the kitchen was compact but well equipped, enabling us to eat in some evenings. You can also use the drying room which is handy if you go skiing.

Room Tip: The studio chalet does have a heater/air conditioner but if you are visiting in winter I would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Would definitely recommend.
The hosts are incredibly welcoming. From the big things (some great recommendations for walking and eating in Wanaka), to the little things (homemade jam tartlets on arrival) all demonstrated their genuine care for their guests. It was evident they really wanted you to enjoy your stay. The accommodation is all one could want - clean, warm, spacious and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

After extensive research done before our trip to NZ, we have decided on Peak Sport Chalet as our first accommodation at Wanaka. It was our honeymoon and of course we would want to pick the best place for our first trip together as husband and wife.

A kind gesture of free upgrade from a studio chalet to a 1-bedroom chalet was given by the host Alex & Christine. After our long flight and journey to Wanaka, we were warmly welcomed by them and shown around the place. Alex gave us a brief introductions and maps to help us familiarise to the small and romantic town and recommended us some wonderful eateries. The fireplace was set up for us and the room was warm and cosy - perfect for honeymooners after a long flight plus the cold weather. There was heaters around and the place was terrific!

Breakfast was prepared and it was indeed delicious! Tasty muffins and homemade jams, cereals all made us both felt like home. =)

Gorgeous place, sceneries and fantastic hosts! What more can we ask for! =)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafiMariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great hospitality, excellent rooms - very clean and plenty of room. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We really appreciate your comments. Looking forward to welcome you again in beautiful Wanaka. Thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#2 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
14.7 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Property: Peak Sport Chalet
Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing