We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect warm cosy chalet, nice "European ski chalet" feeling”
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #8 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect warm cosy chalet, nice "European ski chalet" feeling”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We've stayed at the Peak Sport Chalet numerous times now since 2006, mainly each time we go to Wanaka! This happened per coincidence mainly in winter when we go skiing, but we have also made it to Peak Sport Chalet in other seasons! The service is always excellent, with a warm welcome by Alex and Christine, and lovely home baking waiting for us each time. The chalet is perfectly suited for our family of 2 adults and 3 young children, the 2 rooms are lovely and spotless, the bathroom is small but fine and has underfloor heating. The kitchen is very well equipped for self-cooking, much better than most motels we've been to. The kids can go run around the house and in the backyard safely. The only hazard for very young children in the Chalet is the log fire. I'd say the biggest plus point is the hospitality of the owners who really care about your stay and that they keep improving it, at every visit we see changes in the Chalet for the best! I remember one visit I thought (or did I say it loud?) "it would be nice to have a step stool for the kids to be able to wash their hands." and the next time it was there! :-) If I had to find a down side to this accommodation, it's probably that the Chalet has no view on the lake, as it is tucked at the back of the property, but we don't really mind as we usually just go back to the Chalet when it's evening time and dark in winter, we're happy to be tucked in our warm cozy place!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the 2 bedroom self-contained chalet, twice with another family when we only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunedinite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
134
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Highly recommended. Very welcoming hosts. The room was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the deck with a beer after a hard days skiing.They were very helpful with recommendations for walks and activities. Thanks again Alex and Christine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This place is amazing and I can only highly recommend it. The rooms are spotless and everything looks like new, the service is great and Alex and Christine are so friendly, warm and helpful without being pushy or intrusive. The quality of everything is really high and it just feels nice to be there. We will definitely come back here when we visit Wanaka again!

Room Tip: We had the studio and it's great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharinaJohanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This little place is awesome. The studio had everything we needed. We arrived to a very welcoming Alex and some homemade brownies awaiting us on the table!! The place was spotless and Alex made some great recommendations for Dinner and Lunch. We were extremely impressed!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovychicIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thanks for your review. We loved having you as our guest and are looking forward to meeting you again.
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

What a fantastic place.

Coming home to a warm studio every night was fantastic, nothing better than relaxing in front of the fire after a day skiing.

The complimentary massages and the breakfast were great.

Alex and Christine could not do enough for us during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thanks for your review. We like to make our guests stay as pleasant as ever so possible. Glad you enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet and Alex' treatment.
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

What a lovely place, warm and cosy with wonderful and welcoming hosts Alex and Cristine. I have stayed at Peak Sport on a number of occasions now and the standards are at least as high now as when I first stayed there some 10 plus years ago. It's location is perfect with easy access to the lake, not too far from the town and of course close proximity to both Cardrona and Treble Cone ski fields. Thanks again Alex and Christine for a wonderful stay and look forward to my next visit

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveBuddyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thanks for your review. We love to surprise you with something new done in the Chalet every time again ;-). Looking forward to your next visit. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Was really impressed with the studio at the Peak Sport Chalet. The chalet was very clean, warm, quiet and comfortable. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and couldnt do enough to help. Will definitely be staying here in future. Great value for money. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
1.4 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
14.7 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Property: Peak Sport Chalet
Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing